MyMM: videos, images, articlesOnline tickets
La Monnaie - Ainsi la nuit
La Monnaie ¦ Chamber music ¦ Ainsi la nuit ¦ Intro

Ainsi la nuit

Malibran String Quartet

The Malibran String Quartet is made up of Belgian violinist Jolente De Maeyer, violinist Tatiana Samouil, viola player Tony Nys and cellist Justus Grimm. Catch them in two ravishing and quintessentially French string quartets, each of which is its composer’s only attempt at the genre. The first is Henri Dutilleux’ Ainsi la nuit, a seven-part composition from 1977 that feels at once still and oddly animated, recalling the teeming nocturnal worlds of Van Gogh and Baudelaire, two artists who happen to loom large in Dutilleux’s personal pantheon. His greatest debt, however, is to impressionistic composers like Debussy and Ravel, whose achingly beautiful Quartet in F major makes up the second part of the concert.

Co-production La Monnaie / De Munt, Festival van Vlaanderen-Brussel / KlaraFestival

Part of