MyMM: videos, images, articlesOnline tickets
La Monnaie - Carlo RizziLa Monnaie - Carlo Rizzi
La Monnaie ¦ Concerts ¦ Carlo Rizzi ¦ Intro

Carlo Rizzi


Tchaikovsky’s First Piano Concerto and Sixth Symphony are unquestionably two of the composer’s most frequently performed works. In 1889 he conceived the plan to compose a new grand symphony, whose content should remain enigmatic. It was his sixth and last symphony, with a characteristic finale in the form of an Adagio lamentoso. It is not known whether Tchaikovsky already felt his own end approaching, but like his earlier symphonies, the Sixth Symphony does indeed closely reflect his feelings. The First Piano Concerto, which he began to compose in 1874, reflects his view that the concert performance of music was a contest between orchestra and soloist, whom he regarded as equals. Despite its continuing popularity, this concerto has lost none of its power and freshness, especially in the hands of Elisabeth Leonskaja, who is already a living legend.

Production La Monnaie / De Munt
Co-presentation Bozar Music
© Denis Dailleux/ Agence VU