MyMM: videos, images, articlesOnline tickets
La Monnaie - Gerard Mortier
La Monnaie ¦ Other ¦ Gerard Mortier ¦ Intro

Gerard Mortier

An homage

On 9 March died Gerard Mortier former general director at La Monnaie.

For ten long years, from 1981 to 1991, Gerard Mortier put his stamp in no uncertain manner on the organization and the artistic policy of our opera house. During that time he brought a level of quality and creativity to La Monnaie that it never attained before his tenure, showing the world, from his base in Brussels, how a dynamic opera house with a vision could be both trendsetting and high-profile in Europe in spite of being limited in resources.

He was one of the most remarkable figures in the opera world and played a vital role in determining the appearance of the cultural world in our country and further afield. His outspoken artistic-intellectual and independent spirit always made well-defined choices which were time and again clear and often controversial. Gerard Mortier's artistic legacy can hardly be overrated and his visionary ideas on opera will continue to offer a source of inspiration.

On Tuesday 27 May, La Monnaie, in collaboration with national and international cultural organisations, will pay homage to its former director during an evening with La Monnaie Symphony Orchestra and the combined Choruses of La Monnaie and de Vlaamse Opera.


© Oliver Herrmann
 

   
cultural
black-out

MyMM : vidéos, images, articlesTickets en ligne
La Monnaie - Gerard Mortier
La Monnaie ¦ Autres ¦ Gerard Mortier ¦ Intro

Gerard Mortier

Un hommage

Le 9 mars, Gerard Mortier, ancien intendant de la Monnaie, est décédé.

De 1981 à 1991, il a profondément marqué de son empreinte l’organisation et la politique artistique de notre maison d’opéra. Durant cette période, il a porté la Monnaie à un niveau de qualité et de créativité que le théâtre n’avait probablement jamais atteint avant lui, en montrant au monde entier, depuis Bruxelles, qu’une maison d’opéra dynamique, portée par une vision, pouvait, malgré des moyens limités, donner le ton en Europe.

Il était une des figures les plus remarquables du monde de l’opéra. C’est indéniable qu’il a durablement marqué le visage culturel de notre pays et au-delà. Son génie intellectuel et artistique ainsi que son indépendance d’esprit l’ont constamment poussé à des choix tranchés et à des prises de position claires, parfois sujettes à controverse. L’héritage artistique de Gerard Mortier peut difficilement être surestimé et sa vision de l’opéra restera à jamais une source d’inspiration.

Le 27 mai, à 19h30, en collaboration avec des organisations nationales et internationales, la Monnaie rendra un hommage à son ancien directeur au cours d’une soirée spéciale qui réunira, entre autres, l’Orchestre symphonique de la Monnaie, ainsi que les chœurs de la Monnaie et du Vlaamse Opera.


© Oliver Herrmann