MyMM: videos, images, articles

 

Pierre Debusschere

 

Seven sins, sevens colors, seven photographs. A man. A woman. Studio feeling. Specially selected music accompanies each of the photo shoot scenes. Loudspeakers fill the white cube of Pierre Debusschere’s studio in Saint-Gilles with the seven deadly tracks. Music inspires all of his creations. Different bodies are passing in front of his camera : young, white, wrinkled, beautiful, black, old, seductive. This atmosphere has something immanent operatic : every image is set up by a crew of different specialists, carefully staged and directed to explore the full range of human desire in the stylized frames. Music heightens the diapason of emotions. Opera, fashion and photography united in a sinful act of creation.

La Monnaie commissioned a contemporary artist to create an original series of artworks to accompany our season. Belgian filmmaker, visual artist and photographer Pierre Debusschere combines photography with digital arts and innovative technologies to create high impact visuals. Debusschere has shot editorials for several leading fashion, art and lifestyle magazines such as Vogue Homme Japan, Citizen K, AnOther Magazine, Numéro Homme, Hero, as well as being a regular contributor to Dazed&Confused. In 2009, he founded 254FOREST, a creative studio based in Brussels working in the realms of film, art, photography and music. With his creative team, Debusschere launched artistic and fashion projects for among others Dior Homme, Raf Simons, Y3 or Hugo Boss. His work was exhibited at the Villa Noailles in Hyeres and at Colette. In 2013, he developed a very personal project – a homage to the art history and music that inspires the artist – including a book, an exhibition and an one-hour film with soundtrack featuring among others the American hip hop artist Kanye West, called ‘I KNOW SIMPLY THAT THE SKY WILL LAST LONGER THAN I’. Most recently he directed two music videos for the American R&B and pop diva, Beyoncé Knowles-Carter.

In his project conveyed especially for La Monnaie, Debusschere’s photographic lens separates the sterile studio lights into the spectrum of human nature. Models’ bodies are covered with colors traditionally associated with the seven deadly sins. Dramaturgy of paint and poses leads the eye of the spectator through a realm of bodies that counter the red-hot anger with the sloth of the ‘feeling (light) blue’ ; that wrap themselves in the proud velvet of violet purple in the world that goes green with envy ; that drop all conventions and lustfully crave for the pure pleasure ; that are consumed by desires under the dark blue sky illuminated by flamboyant tones of gluttony-orange and greedy sparkles of yellow. Objects created by the acknowledge Belgian artists and designers – the Yellow Diamond Mask and purple toga by Maison Martin Margiela, Blanket by Edith Dekyndt – accompany these constellations of bodies and gestures. Debusschere’s photographs are digitally reworked and blur the boundaries between the photography and painting, realistic body and its archetypical manifestation, inviting the spectator to the meditation on the ontology of the sin and the human nature.

‘His images are not concerned with perspective or distance, but deal with layers of surface. Each image entirely simulated, is about the pictorial process,’ writes on Debusschere’s work Nathalie Khan, the fashion historian from the University of the Arts London. ‘The fashion image – still or moving – explores desire. Debusschere offers a context in which we learn to understand his search for the immediacy of the human face. At times features are scratched, eyes distorted or genders blurred. But what dominates each image is an emphasis to detail and painstaking precision. Colour and skin are important features in Debusschere’s work. His images refer to a kind of beauty we would otherwise find in the work of artists such as Frans Hals. Reminiscent of the traditions of Flemish paintings, his portraits absorb the contrasts between the colour of pale skin and darker shades of shadows.’

Krystian Lada

MyMM : vidéos, images, articles

 

Pierre Debusschere

 

Sept péchés, sept couleurs, sept photographies. Un homme. Une femme. Ambiance de studio. Une musique spécialement choisie accompagne chacune des scènes du shooting. Des haut-parleurs emplissent des sept morceaux mortels le cube blanc du studio de Pierre Debusschere à Saint-Gilles. La musique inspire toutes ses créations. Des corps en tous genres défilent devant sa caméra : jeunes, blancs, ridés, beaux, noirs, vieux, séduisants. Cette atmosphère a quelque chose d’intrinsèquement lyrique : chaque image est composée par une équipe de plusieurs spécialistes, soigneusement mise en scène et ordonnée pour explorer la vaste palette du désir humain dans des cadres stylisés. La musique intensifie le diapason des émotions. L’opéra, la mode et la photographie réunis dans un acte immoral de création.

La Monnaie a commandé à un artiste contemporain la création d’une série originale d’oeuvres d’art pour accompagner notre saison. Le cinéaste, artiste visuel et photographe belge Pierre Debusschere associe la photographie aux arts numériques et aux technologies innovantes pour créer des visuels qui font mouche. Debusschere a réalisé les clichés des éditoriaux de plusieurs grands magazines de mode, d’art et d’art de vivre, comme Vogue Homme Japon, Citizen K, AnOther Magazine, Numéro Homme, Hero ; il collabore aussi régulièrement à Dazed&Confused. En 2009, il a fondé 254FOREST, un studio de création basé à Bruxelles et actif dans le domaine du cinéma, des arts, de la photographie et de la musique. Avec son équipe, Debusschere a lancé des projets artistiques et de mode, notamment pour Dior Homme, Raf Simons, Y3 ou Hugo Boss. Ses oeuvres ont été exposées à la Villa Noailles à Hyères et dans la boutique Colette. En 2013, il a développé un projet très personnel – un hommage à l’histoire de l’art et à la musique dont s’inspire l’artiste – qui se décline en un livre, une exposition et un film d’une heure dont la bande sonore implique, entre autres, l’artiste hip hop américain Kanye West, intitulé I KNOW SIMPLY THAT THE SKY WILL LAST LONGER THAN I [Je sais que le ciel vivra plus longtemps que moi]. Plus récemment, il a dirigé deux vidéo-clips pour Beyoncé Knowles-Carter, la diva américaine du R&B et de la pop.

Dans son projet spécialement réalisé pour la Monnaie, l’objectif photographique de Debusschere diffracte les lumières crues du studio en spectre de la nature humaine. Les corps des modèles sont recouverts de couleurs traditionnellement associées aux sept péchés capitaux. La dramaturgie liée à la peinture et aux poses guide l’oeil du spectateur dans un univers peuplé de corps ; corps qui opposent le rouge-colère à la paresse suscitée par les « bleus à l’âme » ; qui se drapent dans le violet ou la pourpre de l’orgueil dans le monde vert de jalousie ; qui rejettent toutes les conventions et aspirent ardemment au plaisir pur ; qui sont consumés de désirs sous un ciel bleu nuit illuminé de traînées flamboyantes d’un orange gourmand et d’éclats jaunes de cupidité. Des objets créés par des artistes et designers belges reconnus – le Masque de diamants jaune et la toge pourpre par la Maison Martin Margiela, le voile par Edith Dekyndt – accompagnent ces constellations de corps et de gestes. Les photographies de Debusschere, retouchées numériquement, brouillent les frontières entre la photographie et la peinture, entre le corps réaliste et sa manifestation archétypique, invitant le spectateur à méditer sur l’ontologie du péché et de la nature humaine.

« Ses images ne jouent pas sur la perspective ou la distance, mais sur les couches de surface. Chaque image, entièrement simulée, touche au processus graphique », écrit Nathalie Khan, historienne de la mode à l’Université des arts de Londres, à propos de l’oeuvre de Debusschere. « L’image de mode – fixe ou en mouvement – explore le désir. Debusschere propose un contexte dans lequel nous apprenons à comprendre sa recherche de l’immédiateté du visage humain. Parfois, les traits sont égratignés, les yeux déformés ou les sexes flous. Mais ce qui domine dans chaque image, c’est l’accent mis sur le détail et la précision rigoureuse. La couleur et la peau sont des caractéristiques importantes de l’oeuvre de Debusschere. Ses images révèlent un type de beauté que nous retrouvons dans l’oeuvre d’artistes tels que Frans Hals. Évoquant la tradition de la peinture flamande, ses portraits absorbent les contrastes entre la couleur pâle de la peau et les teintes plus sombres des ombres. »

Krystian Lada