MyMM: videos, images, articles

 
La Monnaie - Gerard Mortier (1943-2014)

Gerard Mortier (1943-2014)

With much sadness we have learnt of the death of Gerard Mortier. All of us here at La Monnaie would like to express our heartfelt sympathy at the loss of this charismatic and energetic figure, and a number of us can feel blessed to have been able to work alongside him for a lengthy period of time.

Gerard Mortier’s passing signifies a loss beyond all words for the opera world and most especially for La Monnaie. If La Monnaie today takes a leading position in the European opera landscape it is largely down to this man. For ten long years, not only did he put his stamp in no uncertain manner on the organisation and the artistic policy of this opera house, but his visionary ideas on opera also continued later on to be a source of inspiration for his successors.

With the passing of Gerard Mortier La Monnaie has lost a great former director and an irreplaceable reference and friend, whose artistic legacy has been kept alive since his departure, and whose vision will guide us all long after his death. His outspoken artistic-intellectual and independent spirit always made well-defined choices which were time and again clear and often controversial. Naturally, this didn’t always make him only friends, but it cannot be denied that he played a vital role in determining the appearance of the cultural world in our country and further afield for many years to come.

>> biography of Gerard Mortier

 

« Dear Gerard, I would like to say a few words on a more personal note. No stranger to this either, you showed your respect for a project, a decision, a choice in your own special way, and neither did you shrink from speaking your mind whenever you saw things from a different point of view. I have always kept your beautifully-written cards as souvenirs that mean so much to me. There is no other way than with respect to look back on your many accomplishments. Most of them can truthfully be termed historic, and even though, as with us all, not every project was a great success, the quality and vision has inalienably you written all over it. One of exactingness, excellence, perseverance, innovation – just as with Mahler, 'Tradition' for you was always 'Schlamperei'.
Your present Real season in Madrid brings everything together that you have stood for your whole life: creation of new works, exciting and unexpected viewpoints, insights, musical revolutionary interpretations, rediscoveries, familiar works in fantastic productions, a role for expressive artists... If only for that you deserve First prize, a career prize, the title of Best Opera house and Best Programming of the Season, for a Career, from an Era... I am convinced that our professional community would grant you that, simply because you have earned it.
On behalf of us all here at La Monnaie, the endless row of artists who have given of their best and more here, and naturally on behalf of our audiences, too many to count, we want to thank you for your passion and enthusiasm that among other things were the foundations for the present success of our institution today.
I think that the most endearing homage paid to you should come from Mozart and more specifically a quote from his Zauberflöte that you made your own motto on which you always fell back on in life: „Sei standhaft, duldsam und verschwiegen!“
A lesson in life for us all. For which we thank you. Rest now in peace. »
Peter

 

A condolences book is at your disposal in our Entrance Hall.
Our new world creation of Philippe Boesmans'
Au monde will be dedicated to Gerard Mortier.
La Monnaie will organise in the near future an homage to its former general director.

MyMM : vidéos, images, articles
 
La Monnaie - Gerard Mortier (1943-2014)

Gerard Mortier (1943-2014)

Nous avons appris avec beaucoup de tristesse le décès de Gérard Mortier. Toute l'équipe de la Monnaie tient à exprimer à ses proches ses condoléances à l'occasion de la disparition de cette personnalité charismatique et énergique qui a été proche de certains d'entre nous pendant de longues périodes.

La disparition de Gerard Mortier représente une perte incommensurable pour le monde de l’opéra et tout particulièrement pour la Monnaie. Si notre maison occupe aujourd’hui une place de premier rang dans le paysage lyrique européen, c’est dans une large mesure grâce à lui. Il a non seulement, dix années durant, marqué profondément de son empreinte l’organisation et la politique artistique de la Monnaie, mais sa vision de l’opéra est restée, après son départ, une source d’inspiration pour ses successeurs.

La Monnaie perd en Gerard Mortier un de ses grands directeurs, mais aussi une référence et un ami irremplaçable, dont elle a, après son départ, perpétué l’héritage artistique et dont la vision continuera de la guider longtemps après sa mort. Son génie intellectuel et artistique et son indépendance d’esprit l’ont constamment poussé à des choix tranchés et à des prises de position claires, souvent sujettes à controverse. Cela ne lui a pas valu que des amis, mais il est indéniable qu’il a durablement marqué le visage culturel de notre pays et au-delà.

>> biographie Gerard Mortier

 

« Cher Gerard, je voudrais ajouter une note plus personnelle ; je sais que tu aurais apprécié, toi qui savais comme personne exprimer ton respect pour un projet, une décision, un choix, tout comme tu pouvais émettre de franches critiques quand tu voyais les choses d’un autre œil. J’ai gardé toutes tes belles petites cartes manuscrites comme autant de souvenirs précieux. Car ton avis comptait beaucoup pour moi. Tout compliment de ta part s’apparentait à la plus haute récompense. Comment considérer tes nombreuses réalisations autrement qu’avec un respect infini ? La plupart d’entre elles ont fait date, et même si tous tes projets n’ont pas eu un égal succès – comme c’est le cas pour nous tous –, notre politique de qualité et d’avant-garde porte irréfutablement ta signature. C’est une politique d’exigence, d’excellence, de ténacité, d’innovation ; pour toi comme pour Mahler, « Tradition » est synonyme de « Schlamperei ».
Ta saison actuelle au Teatro Real de Madrid concentre tout ce que tu as défendu toute ta vie : création d’œuvres nouvelles, approches passionnantes et surprenantes, interprétations musicales révolutionnaires, redécouvertes, productions de haut vol d’œuvres connues, une place pour les artistes plasticiens... Rien que pour cela, tu mérites un prix d’honneur, un prix pour l’ensemble de ta carrière : seuls les titres les plus élogieux s’appliquent au rôle d’inspirateur que tu as joué, ces 30 dernières années, auprès de toute une génération de gens d’opéra... Je suis persuadé de notre communauté de professionnels te les concédera volontiers, tout simplement parce que tu les mérites.
Au nom de tous nos collaborateurs, de la myriade d’artistes qui ont travaillé dans ces murs, au nom aussi, bien sûr, de notre public innombrable, nous te remercions pour ta passion et ton enthousiasme, qui ont contribué à la réussite de notre institution.
Je pense qu’il revient à Mozart de te rendre le plus bel hommage, par une citation de sa Flûte enchantée dont tu avais fait ta devise et dont tu n’as cessé de t’inspirer : « Sei standhaft, duldsam und verschwiegen! ».
C’est une leçon de vie pour nous tous. Merci. À présent, repose en paix. »
Peter

 

Un registre de condoléances est à votre disposition dans le hall d’entrée de la Monnaie.
La Monnaie organisera prochainement un hommage à son ancien directeur.
La nouvelle création mondiale de Philippe Boesmans,
Au monde, sera dédiée à Gerard Mortier.