MyMM: videos, images, articlesOnline tickets
La Monnaie - Orphée et Eurydice
La Monnaie ¦ Opera ¦ Orphée et Eurydice ¦ Intro

Orphée et Eurydice

Christoph W. Gluck / Hector Berlioz

After the success of his Parsifal, Romeo Castellucci is returning to Brussels with an ambitious project, initiated by La Monnaie, which he will be staging in two European capitals: Vienna and Brussels.

Based on Christoph Willibald Gluck’s masterpiece, he offers an intriguing reflection on love and death. Castellucci will present Orfeo ed Euridice, the Viennese version of 1762, in Italian at the end of May at the Wiener Festwochen, to be followed by Orphée et Eurydice, Hector Berlioz’s 1859 version in French, on the stage of La Monnaie.

One project, that will be spread over two productions, with two casts, two orchestras and two conductors: a true diptych. With Orfeo ed Euridice B’Rock will prove its talent on the Austrian stage. In Brussels, Hervé Niquet will make his debut conducting our orchestra and Stéphanie d’Oustrac and Sabine Devieilhe will play the title roles.

The myth of Orpheus and Eurydice tells of the impossible return to the land of the living by a woman who has been mortally wounded. The poet-musician Orpheus’s eventful journey in the world of shadows, searching for the one he loves and cannot let go, takes him to the Elysian Fields. This is an unexpected place of peaceful, composed of countryside and those in its thrall. It is here that Eurydice is now installed. During his journey Orpheus is thus introduced to a surprising reality: an enclave, a protected place, both near and yet inaccessible, disturbing, between life and death.

With this original work in two parts, in Vienna as well as in Brussels, he sets out to explore poetically and scientifically one of the last unknown continents, the human brain, with the extraordinary music of Gluck as a guide.

Follow this production on our Facebook-page and Twitter account (@lamonnaiedemunt) and share your opinion through #MMOrphee.


A coproduction Vienna / Brussels, initiated by La Monnaie
Production La Monnaie / De Munt, Wiener Festwochen
With the support of SWIFT
© Andrea Morley - Millennium Images, UK
 

La Monnaie - SWIFT

MyMM : vidéos, images, articlesTickets en ligne
La Monnaie - Orphée et Eurydice
La Monnaie ¦ Opéra ¦ Orphée et Eurydice ¦ Intro

Orphée et Eurydice

Christoph W. Gluck / Hector Berlioz

Diptyque Vienne / Bruxelles

Après le succès de son Parsifal, Romeo Castellucci revient à Bruxelles avec un projet ambitieux à l’initiative de la Monnaie qu’il développe dans deux capitales européennes.

Il propose en effet successivement à Vienne au mois de mai, en ouverture des Wiener Festwochen, puis dans notre théâtre au mois de juin, une double réflexion sur l’amour et la mort à partir du chef-d’oeuvre de Christoph Willibald Gluck. C’est Orfeo ed Euridice, la version « viennoise » de 1762, en italien, qu’il présente tout d'abord avant de mettre en scène à la Monnaie Orphée et Eurydice, la révision française que réalisa Hector Berlioz en 1859.

Le même projet se déploie dans deux productions, avec deux distributions, deux orchestres et deux chefs. Orfeo ed Euridice donne l’occasion à B’Rock de témoigner de son talent sur la scène autrichienne. À Bruxelles, Hervé Niquet fait ses débuts à la tête de notre orchestre avec Stéphanie d’Oustrac et Sabine Devieilhe dans les rôles-titres.

Le mythe d’Orphée et Eurydice évoque l’impossible retour parmi les vivants d’une femme qui fut mortellement blessée. Le périple aventureux du poète-musicien dans le monde des ombres, à la recherche de celle qu’il aime et dont il ne peut se délivrer, l’amène dans les Champs-Élysées, un territoire inattendu, paisible, composé de paysages et de sons captivants. C’est ici que se trouve désormais Eurydice. Au cours de son voyage, Orphée fait ainsi la découverte d’une réalité surprenante : une enclave, un lieu protégé, à la fois proche et inaccessible, inquiétant, entre la vie et la mort.

Avec ce diptyque original, à Vienne et à Bruxelles, Romeo Castellucci s’engage dans une exploration poétique et scientifique de l’un des derniers continents encore méconnus, le cerveau humain, avec pour guide la musique extraordinaire de Gluck.


Nouvelle production
Production La Monnaie / De Munt, Wiener Festwochen
Avec le soutien de SWIFT
© Alex Saberi / National Geographic
 


La Monnaie - SWIFT