The federal opera house in the capital of Europe

La Monnaie / De Munt

© Forster

La Monnaie Chorus

Martino Faggiani, Chorus master

Martino Faggiani was born in Rome. After studying piano, harpsichord and composition at the Santa Cecilia conservatory in Rome, he concentrated on directing vocal ensembles. In 1992 he became Norbert Balatsch’s assistant at the Accademia di Santa Cecilia, where he worked on all the academy’s productions and on several occasions led performances of concerts. He worked there with Claudio Abbado, Rinaldo Alessandrini, Rudolf Barshai, Fabio Biondi, Myung-Whun Chung, Daniele Gatti, Gianluigi Gelmetti, Enrique Mazzola, Kent Nagano, Daniel Oren, Georges Prêtre, Claudio Scimone, Giuseppe Sinopoli and Vladimir Spivakov. He was also chorus master of the Coro giovanile di Santa Cecilia, founded by Bruno Cagli.

Since 2000 he has been chorus master of the chorus of the Teatro Regio in Parma, but he is also in demand as a guest conductor by the Chœur de Radio France in Paris, the Belcanto Chorus, a company in residence with the Reatefestival in Rieti in Italy, and others. He works with conductors like Bruno Bartoletti, Sir Colin Davis, Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos, Riccardo Muti and Youri Temirkanov.

His discography includes a recording of Assassinio nella cattedrale (Pizzetti) for Deutsche Grammophon, works by Verdi (Ernani and Macbeth) and Marino Faliero (Donizetti). His greatest successes include his collaboration with Gianluigi Gelmetti on Œdipus Rex (Stravinsky), Aida (Verdi) at the Teatro San Carlo in Naples, Novae de infinito laudes (Henze) and Juditha triumphans (Vivaldi) conducted by Alessandro De Marchi.

At La Monnaie he prepared the La Monnaie Chorus for Norma (Bellini), Nabucco, Macbeth and the Messa da Requiem (Verdi), La Bohème (Puccini), Don Quichotte (Massenet), Les Huguenots (Meyerbeer), Œdipe (Enescu), Cendrillon (Massenet), Otello (Rossini) and Il Trovatore (Verdi).

MEMBERS OF La Monnaie Chorus

Soprani 1 — Rosa Brandão, Maryvonne Deprez, Lieve Jacobs, Yingchun Lu, Marielle Moeskops

Soprani 2 — Nathalie Perin, Nathalie Van de Voorde, Adrienne Visser

Alti 1 — Joëlle Delaval, Elzbieta Janulek, Beata Morawska, Marie Virot

Alti 2 — Marta Beretta, Birgitte Bønding, Chantal Collins, Jingxian Li, Hilde Vanmuysen

Tenori 1 — Marc Coulon, Luc de Meulenaere, Seo Hee-Jung, Hans Leether, John Manning, Tie Min Wang

Tenori 2 — Brian Aarons, Andrej Platounov, Benoit Scheuren, Alain-Pierre Wingelinckx, Chung Hwanjoo

Bassi 1 — Ignard Ditewig, Bernard Giovani, Yves Goffinet, André Janulek, Damien Parmentier, Bernard Villiers

Bassi 2 — Aldo de Vernati, René Laryea, Gerard Lavalle, Pascal Macou, Marcel Schmitz

Share this page