The federal opera house in the capital of Europe

LA MONNAIE DE MUNT

Alain Altinoglu

Music director

The French conductor Alain Altinoglu was born in Paris in 1975 and studied at the Conservatoire national supérieur de musique, where he currently also teaches. After conducting La Monnaie Symphony Orchestra in Cendrillon (Massenet) and in various concerts, in 2016 he was appointed music director of La Monnaie. He has since led ‘his’ orchestra in various acclaimed interpretations of the Coq d’or (Rimski-Korsakov), Aida (Verdi), Dialogues des Carmélites (Poulenc), Lohengrin (Wagner), Bluebeard’s Castle (Bartók) and Don Pasquale (Donizetti), as well as in a vast symphonic repertoire ranging from Beethoven to Stravinsky, through Brahms, Berlioz, Fauré, Janáček, Bartók and Ravel.

In recent seasons Alain Altinoglu has made a successful debut in (among other places) Bayreuth with Lohengrin (Wagner) and at the Royal Opera House Covent Garden in London with Don Giovanni (Mozart). Other highlights are the world creation of Rote Laterne (Christian Jost) at the Opernhaus Zurich, Manon Lescaut (Puccini) at the Bayerische Staatsoper, the Tchaikovsky ‘double bill’ Jolanta / The Nutcracker at the Opéra de Paris and new productions of Macbeth (Verdi, Wiener Staatsoper), Salome (Strauss, Deutsche Oper Berlin) and Pelléas et Mélisande (Debussy, Opernhaus Zürich and Wiener Staatsoper). Last October he conducted Les Troyens (Berlioz) at the Wiener Staatsoper in Vienna.

He regularly conducts major orchestras such as the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, the Philadelphia Orchestra, the Wiener Philharmoniker, the Orchestre National de France, the Orchestre de Paris, the Staatskapelle Dresden, the Tonhalle Orchester Zurich and the Berliner Philharmoniker.

As a pianist, Alain Altinoglu has a strong affinity and command of the Lied repertoire, regularly accompanying mezzo-soprano Nora Gubisch. He has also opened up the world of classical music for children with his family book Maestro Muziek! and with popular family concerts like Beethoven for Kids.   

Calendar
  • 29.05.2019: Concert Beethoven 7 & 8 (La Monanie Symphony Orchestra / Centre for Fine Arts Brussels)
  • 11.06 > 29.06 2019: Opera The Tale of Tsar Saltan (La Monanie Symphony Orchestra / Théâtre Royal de la Monnaie)
  • 05.07.2019: Concert Festival de Lanaudière (Orchestre symphonique de Montréal & Francesco Piemontesi / Amphithéâtre Fernand‑Lindsay)
  • 18.07.2019: Concert au Palais Princier (Orchestre Philharmonique de MonteCarlo & Nora Gubisch / Palais de Monaco)
  • 03.09.2019: Concert Ein Heldenleben (La Monanie Symphony Orchestra / Centre for Fine Arts Brussels)
  • 20.09 > 05.10 2019: Opera Macbeth Underworld (La Monanie Symphony Orchestra / Théâtre Royal de la Monnaie)

Maison d’opéra fédérale au sein de la capitale de l’Europe

LA MONNAIE DE MUNT

Alain Altinoglu

Directeur musical

Né à Paris en 1975, Alain Altinoglu étudie au Conservatoire national supérieur de musique de sa ville natale où il enseigne actuellement. Après avoir dirigé l’Orchestre symphonique de la Monnaie dans Cendrillon (Massenet) et différents concerts, il en devient le directeur musical en 2016. Depuis lors, il dirige « son » orchestre dans plusieurs interprétations applaudies du Coq d’or et du Conte du tsar Saltane (Rimski-Korsakov), d’Aida (Verdi), des Dialogues des Carmélites (Poulenc), de Lohengrin et de Tristan und Isolde (Wagner), du Château de Barbe-Bleue (Bartók) et de Don Pasquale (Donizetti), ainsi que dans un vaste répertoire symphonique allant de Beethoven à Stravinsky, en passant par Brahms, Berlioz, Fauré, Janáček, Bartók ou encore Ravel.

Ces dernières saisons, le chef d’orchestre français a également fait ses débuts à Bayreuth avec un Lohengrin (Wagner) couronné de succès et à la Royal Opera House Covent Garden avec Don Giovanni (Mozart). La création mondiale de Rote Laterne (Christian Jost) à l’Opernhaus de Zurich, Manon Lescaut (Puccini) au Bayerische Staatsoper, Les Troyens (Berlioz) au Wiener Staatsoper, un double programme Iolanta et Casse-Noisette (Tchaïkovski) à l’Opéra de Paris et de nouvelles productions de Macbeth (Verdi) au Wiener Staatsoper, de Salome (Strauss) au Deutsche Oper de Berlin et de Pelléas et Mélisande (Debussy) à l’Opernhaus de Zurich et au Wiener Staatsoper se sont révélés des temps forts de sa carrière.

Il est en outre régulièrement à la tête d’éminents orchestres internationaux comme le Chicago Symphony Orchestra, le Philadelphia Orchestra, le Wiener Philharmoniker, l’Orchestre National de France, l’Orchestre de Paris, la Staatskapelle Dresden, le Tonhalle Orchester Zürich et le Berliner Philharmoniker.

Cette saison à la Monnaie, il dirigera la création mondiale de Macbeth Underworld de Pascal Dusapin, de nouvelles productions des Contes d’Hoffmann (Offenbach) et de Der Rosenkavalier (Strauss) et la quasi- totalité de notre cycle de concerts, qui mettra surtout à l’honneur les œuvres de Strauss et Tchaïkovski.

En sa qualité de pianiste, Alain Altinoglu se consacre aussi au répertoire du lied en accompagnant la mezzo-soprano Nora Gubisch. Il aime également faire découvrir l’univers de la musique classique aux enfants, notamment grâce à son livre Maestro, à vous de jouer ! et à travers ses populaires concerts familiaux comme, cette saison, le Till Eulenspiegel for Kids.

Calendrier