COVID-19: La Monnaie closes its theatre, its Workshops and its box office and is suspending all service until the 5th of April. All productions and events in this period are cancelled. Pikovaya Dama is postponed until a later season. Click here for more info.

Close

The federal opera house in the capital of Europe

LA MONNAIE DE MUNT

Once upon Now

Peter de Caluwe presents the 2020-21 season of La Monnaie

Peter de Caluwe
Reading time
10 min.

A new decade got under way just a little while ago. That sort of ten-year milestone may seem arbitrary, but it is already clear that we face major changes in the near future. If recent years are anything to go by, we can expect a turbulent period in both politics and society, in the context of an ultra-rapidly changing world. That kind of climate forces us to move with the times. We must not, we cannot, sidestep the burning issues in society today.

This season, we seek to face these challenges in two ways: both by tackling contemporary subjects and by taking a look back at the great works of the past. So that their timeless themes can help us to learn lessons for our own time. In these pages, I will set out to guide you through the programming that emerged from those reflections. Once again, there is no single overarching theme; there is, however, a luxuriant tangle of underlying connections that make for a rich and meaningful season.

This will take place within the framework that we have set out for the years ahead in my third term as General Director. The result is a skeleton with two key vertebrae: two contemporary works at the start of the season, and a challenging undertaking in which different operas by the same composer are brought together in a single new project.

A Struggle With Identity and Racism
The New York Times, 4.1.2013

How better to get the cultural year under way than with the world premiere of a newly composed work? Kris Defoort has spent just about a whole decade working on his fourth opera, The Time of Our Singing. A time-consuming project, understandably. Transforming the six hundred or so pages of Richard Powers’ novel of the same name, an epic family saga set in the racism-plagued United States of the twentieth century, into a workable libretto is not the work of a moment. Studded with musical references, this substantial literary tome offered Kris a highly varied palette of sounds with which to construct his score, ranging from the earliest Flemish polyphony to the wildest free jazz.
In the US director Ted Huffmann, we have got hold of a driven artist to bring the historical novel’s political undercurrents to the stage. He is himself the child of a mixed marriage and the book deals with issues of race that affect him directly.

Our second contemporary work is also politically charged: The Sleeping Thousand, an opera in Hebrew about the Israeli-Palestinian conflict. In a sci-fi treatment, whose libretto reads like a Philip K Dick novel. Here, too, the work deals with issues that directly affect the artistic team. The composer Adam Maor spent years in prison as a refusenik, for refusing to do his military service. The opera is first and foremost about the underlying feelings and personal struggles associated with oppression. The Sleeping Thousand, which marks the Israeli composer’s operatic debut, will be performed by talented young musicians from the European Network of Opera Academies (enoa), of which La Monnaie is proud to be a partner.

L’avenir du Royaume-Uni n’a jamais été aussi incertain
Le Soir, 4.9.2019

In the two-part project Bastarda!, we let history speak as an answer to a question that confronts our leaders more today than ever before: that of the extraordinarily difficult balance between public image, personal life choices, and social responsibility. Bastarda! is a musical-theatrical tour de force that combines Elisabetta al castello di Kenilworth, Anna Bolena, Maria Stuarda, and Roberto Devereux, Gaetano Donizetti’s four Tudor operas, in a brand-new two-part production. With an entirely revisited score, too, arranged and conducted by Francesco Lanzillotta. Even singers who are familiar with Donizetti’s originals will find themselves having to reinvent their roles for this new work.

The sequence will present the turbulent life story of the Virgin Queen, Elizabeth I, child of the allegedly invalid marriage between Henry VIII and his second wife, Anne Boleyn. In the concept that we have developed in collaboration with Olivier Fredj, the spectator is sucked into the power struggles, characterised by intrigue and murder, that Elizabeth inherited from her father. In order to recreate the Tudor era as vividly as possible, we have brought in the Oscar-winning designer Colleen Atwood – you can expect opulent costumes in a setting in which stage and auditorium, fiction and reality blend seamlessly. The entire chronicle unfolds over two successive opera evenings, which you should ideally both attend to get the most out of the production.

We return to the Tudor family tree with a new production of Henry VIII by Saint-Saëns. In 2021, it will be a hundred years since the composer’s death. The director Olivier Py, in the wake of Les Huguenots and Hamlet, immerses himself once more in an underrated French opera, this time in collaboration with our Music Director, Alain Altinoglu. The work focuses on the annulment of the marriage of the English king to his first wife, Catherine of Aragon. The thematic link to our Elizabethan Donizetti project means that this opera forms part of a Tudor ‘cluster’ that dominates much of our programming.

Our end-of-year production is also connected to that cluster. If it had been up to Shakespeare, no more would have been heard of the character of Sir John Falstaff from his Henry IV. But Elizabeth I herself insisted that the Bard should bring back the uncouth, pot-bellied knight in The Merry Wives of Windsor, thus indirectly providing Giuseppe Verdi with the material for his swan song. In line with what is now an annual tradition, Alain Altinoglu conducts our December production; he and Laurent Pelly will give their imaginations free reign in this commedia lirica, which the French director seasons just enough to give the farce a bittersweet flavour.

While this cluster accounts for a considerable proportion of our season’s programme, that is not a matter of taking a position in relation to the protracted political malaise affecting our British neighbours – although … With these productions, we aim to convey our own values as an opera house. As one that breaks through borders. For most of the new productions in the cluster, we have found a variety of co-production partners all over the continent. In that way, we wish to promote cohesion across national frontiers, in the hope that an exploration of the cultural and political past can be enlightening for the Europe we live in today.

In the dark winter months, we also present Benjamin Britten’s gloriously macabre chamber opera The Turn of the Screw. This is a musical setting of the sinister ghostly novella by Henry James, which, ever since its publication, has been interpreted in conflicting ways: from a poetic expression of youthful rebellion to a covert denunciation of paedophilia. We leave it to the director Andrea Breth and the British conductor Ben Glassberg to distil their own interpretation from the multitude of readings of the work. In the rich weave of our season, this Gothic horror story connects our Anglo-Saxon cluster with The Sleeping Thousand, whose existence we owe in part to the Aldeburgh festival held in the town where Britten lived for many years.

From a ghost story to a ghost town. Next season, we will mark not only the hundredth anniversary of the death of Camille Saint-Saëns, but also the centenary of Die tote Stadt, the operatic hit with which the Austrian wunderkind Erich Wolfgang Korngold made his international breakthrough at just 23 years of age. The cinematic style of his music, thanks to which Korngold would later become a star in Hollywood, can already be detected in this early work. We roll out the red carpet for the director Mariusz Treliński, whose own background in the cinema makes him ideal for this task. The symbolist novel Bruges-la-Morte, which inspired the libretto, moreover, makes an important connection with our concert season.

De comeback van het patriottisme
De Standaard, 18.11.2016

Belgian post-Romantic music is at its heart. In each of this season’s concerts, our Symphony Orchestra plays a work by a composer from this country. The highlight is a unique event: we will present Lodewijk Mortelmans’ opera De Kinderen der Zee (The Children of the Sea) for the first time in our opera house, in a concert version. One hundred years – centenaries are, in fact, another thread running through our season – after its premiere, the definitive edition of the score still hasn’t been published. For this production, we are working closely with the Mortelmans family. We are an opera house in the heart of Europe, looking out at the wider world. In our role as a federal cultural institution, however, we also avail of opportunities to let you discover a number of neglected composers from the musical history of Belgium.

This season, once again, we can offer you a lieder cycle of the highest quality. This offers regular performers on our opera stage a more intimate platform. And we will also continue to build on our considerable record as dance promotors. Following the successful debut year of Troika, we once more supplement our own productions with the programming of our partners in the KVS and the Théâtre National. This enables us to offer dance-lovers an unprecedentedly varied and extensive range of events, all while continuing our fruitful, long-term collaboration with Rosas and Kaaitheater. We will turn the spotlight on this Troika-partnership with the theatres of Belgium’s main linguistic communities in a highly symbolic move: Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui’s new show, Vlaemsch, whose title speaks for itself – will deliberately not be premiered in ‘his’ Antwerp, but in the capital of Flanders, Brussels.

Jugendliche halten Klimaschutz und Bildungswesen für größte Probleme
Die Welt, 16.08.2019

Our visitor numbers show that we are evolving. More and more young people are finding their way to our opera house. We aim to further arouse their enthusiasm and this season we are inviting under-thirties to attend four dress rehearsals. In addition, we are also keen to offer this new generation an opportunity to discover some successful productions from La Monnaie’s recent past. To that end, we conclude the season with the much-talked-about Parsifal that launched Romeo Castellucci’s opera-directing career almost ten years ago. Not exactly a revival, as Romeo intends getting involved again. Like you, I am curious to see what the result will be like.

If we aim to be a forward-thinking institution, we must also take a good look at ourselves. In the past, there were times when our ecological footprint was subordinated to the creative end product. So we are now trying to make up lost ground as quickly as we can, as we take concrete steps towards becoming a green, climate-responsible opera house. Over recent seasons, major progress has been made in that respect during our renovation works: the construction of a tunnel between the stage and the Workshops, for example, has rendered a lot of unnecessary heavy-goods traffic superfluous. This year, even the aesthetic reflections on our Bastarda! project have been influenced by the goal, indeed the absolute necessity, of reducing our impact on the climate and the environment as much as possible.

Whatever the future may hold in store – for our opera house, for our society, for vulnerable spheres such as welfare, education, and culture – it is my hope that we are ready to face it. Not by blindly going along with a groundless optimism about progress and with an unrestrained pursuit of development, but by continuing to build on the foundations of our cultural history. May this richly varied season offer scope for reflection on those foundations, so that together we may emerge from it wiser.

Share this page

Coronavirus : La Monnaie ferme ses portes et suspend l’ensemble de ses activités jusqu’au 5 avril inclus. Tous nos spectacles et événements durant cette période sont annulés. Notre production de Pikovaya Dama sera reportée à une saison ultérieure. Cliquez ici pour plus d’infos.

Fermer

Maison d’opéra fédérale au sein de la capitale de l’Europe

LA MONNAIE DE MUNT

Once upon Now

Peter de Caluwe présente la nouvelle saison 2020-21

Peter de Caluwe
Temps de lecture
10 min.

Nous venons d’entamer une nouvelle décennie. Un tel jalon peut sembler arbitraire, mais il est néanmoins clair que nous sommes à la veille de grands bouleversements. Si ces dernières années préfigurent l’avenir, nous pouvons nous attendre à une période de turbulences au niveau politique et social, dans un monde qui change à toute vitesse. Pareil climat nous oblige à évoluer avec notre temps. Nous ne pouvons esquiver les sujets brûlants auxquels est confrontée la société contemporaine.

Cette saison, nous tenterons de relever le défi de deux manières: en abordant des thématiques actuelles et en nous tournant vers les grandes œuvres du passé, afin que leurs thèmes intemporels nous instruisent pour le présent. Dans ces quelques pages, je vais vous guider à travers la programmation qui a découlé de cette réflexion. Cette fois encore, il n’y a pas de fil rouge, mais plutôt un enchevêtrement de liens sous-jacents, garant d’une saison aux nombreuses richesses.

Le tout s’inscrira dans la structure que nous avons esquissée pour les années à venir de mon troisième mandat. Une ossature pourvue de deux articulations majeures : une double plongée dans la création contemporaine en ouverture de saison, et un ambitieux projet-phare consistant à présenter conjointement plusieurs opéras d’un même compositeur dans une mise en scène unique et inédite.

A Struggle With Identity and Racism
The New York Times, 4.1.2013

Proposer la création mondiale d’une œuvre nouvellement composée, n’est-ce pas la meilleure façon d’entamer une année culturelle ? Kris Defoort a consacré presque une décennie à l’écriture de son quatrième opéra, The Time of Our Singing. Un projet de longue haleine – et pour cause: ce n’est pas une mince affaire de tirer un bon livret du roman éponyme de Richard Powers, une saga familiale épique de quelque six pages, qui retrace l’histoire du XXe siècle aux États-Unis et dénonce les ravages causés par le racisme. Truffé de références musicales, cet ouvrage littéraire de haut vol offrait à Kris une vaste palette sonore à partir de laquelle élaborer sa partition, depuis l’héritage de la polyphonie flamande jusqu’à la spontanéité du free-jazz. Avec le metteur en scène américain Ted Huffmann, nous avons affaire à un artiste enthousiaste pour porter à la scène les idées politiques sous-jacentes de l’œuvre originale. Issu lui-même d’un mariage mixte, il est personnellement très concerné par la thématique raciale du livre.

La deuxième œuvre contemporaine à l’affiche a également une portée politique : The Sleeping Thousand est un opéra en hébreu sur le conflit israélo-palestinien, dont le livret rappelle les romans de science-fiction de Philip K. Dick. Ici aussi, la thématique de l’œuvre concerne de près l’équipe artistique : le compositeur israélien Adam Maor a passé plusieurs années en prison pour avoir été refuznik, objecteur de conscience. Cet opéra traite avant tout des émotions refoulées et du conflit intérieur que vivent les individus dans un contexte d’oppression. Premier opéra du compositeur, The Sleeping Thousand, sera porté par de jeunes musiciens talentueux du réseau enoa (European Network of Opera Academies), dont la Monnaie est fière d’être partenaire.

L’avenir du Royaume-Uni n’a jamais été aussi incertain
Le Soir, 4.9.2019

Dans notre projet-phare Bastarda!, nous laisserons l’histoire proposer une réponse à un problème auquel nos dirigeants sont confrontés aujourd’hui plus que jamais: l’extrême difficulté à trouver un équilibre entre image publique, choix de vie privés et responsabilité envers la société. Bastarda! constitue un tour de force musico-dramaturgique réunissant Elisabetta al castello di Kenilworth, Anna Bolena, Maria Stuarda et Roberto Devereux – la « tétralogie Tudor » de Gaetano Donizetti – en une double production inédite. Celle-ci repose sur une toute nouvelle partition, arrangée et dirigée par Francesco Lanzillotta. Pour cette création, les chanteurs familiers du répertoire original de Donizetti sont amenés à réinventer leurs rôles.

Le spectacle qui en résulte retrace la vie agitée d’Elizabeth I, surnommée The Virgin Queen, née du mariage soi-disant non valide de Henry VIII et de sa deuxième épouse, Anne Boleyn. Dans le concept que nous avons élaboré avec Olivier Fredj, le spectateur se trouve impliqué dans les jeux de pouvoir, foisonnant d’intrigues et de meurtres, à travers lesquels Elizabeth s’inscrit dans la continuité de son père. Pour raviver au mieux l’atmosphère de l’époque Tudor, nous avons fait appel à Colleen Atwood, la costumière attitrée de Tim Burton dont le travail fut récompensé quatre fois par un Oscar. De quoi s’attendre à des costumes opulents dans un décor où se confondent salle et scène, fiction et réalité. Cette chronique complète de la vie d’Elizabeth se déroule sur deux soirées consécutives formant un tout, et à voir idéalement dans son entièreté afin de profiter au mieux de la production.

L’arbre généalogique des Tudor étendra également ses branches sur la nouvelle production de Henry VIII de Camille Saint-Saëns – dont nous célébrerons en 2021 le centenaire de la mort. Après Les Huguenots et Hamlet, le metteur en scène Olivier Py se plonge à nouveau dans un opéra français peu connu, cette fois en collaboration avec notre directeur musical Alain Altinoglu. L’œuvre se concentre sur l’annulation du mariage du roi d’Angleterre et de sa première épouse, Catherine d’Aragon. Par son lien thématique avec notre grand projet élisabéthain, l’opéra fait partie du cycle Tudor qui domine une grande partie de notre programmation.

C’est à ce même cycle que se rattache notre production de fin d’année. Si cela n’avait tenu qu’à Shakespeare, la vie littéraire du personnage de Sir John Falstaff se serait arrêtée à la fin de Henry IV. C’est Elizabeth I en personne qui insista auprès du Barde pour qu’il fasse revenir l’irrévérencieux chevalier au féroce appétit dans The Merry Wives of Windsor – fournissant ainsi indirectement à Giuseppe Verdi le matériau de son chant du cygne. Selon la tradition, Alain Altinoglu dirigera cette production de décembre ; il donnera libre cours à sa fantaisie dans cette commedia lirica, dont le metteur en scène français Laurent Pelly saura tirer une farce à la saveur douce-amère.

La part considérable occupée par le cycle Tudor dans la programmation ne correspond pas à une prise de position dans le malaise politique prolongé que connaissent nos voisins britanniques – quoique Avec ces productions, nous voulons transmettre les valeurs qui sont les nôtres en tant que maison d’opéra – une maison qui brise les frontières. Nous avons trouvé plusieurs coproducteurs européens pour la plupart des nouvelles productions de ce cycle. Nous espérons ainsi promouvoir la cohésion au-delà des frontières nationales, convaincus qu’il pourrait être éclairant pour l’Europe dans laquelle nous vivons aujourd’hui, de porter un regard sur son passé culturel et politique.

Au cœur des sombres mois d’hiver, nous présenterons également The Turn of the Screw, l’opéra de chambre magnifiquement lugubre de Benjamin Britten. Le compositeur a mis en musique la terrifiante histoire de revenants de Henry James, qui, dès sa publication, a suscité les interprétations les plus diverses – entre expression poétique d’une rébellion juvénile et dénonciation voilée de la pédophilie. La metteuse en scène Andrea Breth nous proposera, aux côtés du chef d’orchestre britannique Ben Glassberg, sa propre interprétation parmi ces multiples lectures. Au sein du riche entrelacs que forme notre saison, ce conte d’horreur dans le style gothique constitue un point de jonction entre le cycle anglo-saxon et The Sleeping Thousand, qui a partiellement vu le jour durant le Festival d’Aldeburgh dont Britten est le fondateur.

D’une histoire de revenants à une ville fantôme... La saison prochaine, nous célébrerons aussi le centenaire de Die tote Stadt, l’opéra qui a propulsé sur la scène musicale internationale l’enfant prodige autrichien Erich Wolfgang Korngold, alors âgé de vingt-trois ans. L’écriture cinématographique de Korngold, qui lui vaudra de se hisser plus tard au rang des stars de Hollywood, perce déjà dans cette œuvre de jeunesse. Nous déroulerons le tapis rouge pour le metteur en scène Mariusz Treliński qui, à en juger par son expérience au cinéma, saura relever le défi. Le roman symboliste Bruges-la-Morte qui a inspiré le livret constitue en outre une passerelle majeure vers notre saison de concerts.

De comeback van het patriottisme
De Standaard, 18.11.2016

La musique postromantique belge y occupera en effet une place centrale : une œuvre d’un compositeur belge sera à l’affiche de chacun des concerts de notre Orchestre symphonique. Pour couronner le tout, l’opéra De Kinderen der Zee [Les Enfants de la mer] de Lodewijk Mortelmans sera donné pour la première fois dans notre Théâtre, en version de concert. Cent ans après sa création – le centenaire représentant un autre lien entre les œuvres de la programmation –, il n’existe toujours pas de version définitive de cette partition. Nous travaillerons donc en étroite collaboration avec la famille Mortelmans. Maison d’opéra au cœur de l’Europe, nous sommes ouverts sur le monde. Mais il nous incombe aussi, en tant qu’institution culturelle fédérale, de vous donner la possibilité de découvrir plusieurs compositeurs belges méconnus.

Cette saison encore, nous proposerons un cycle de récitals de qualité, offrant ainsi aux habitués de notre scène un cadre plus intime. Nous continuerons en outre à écrire notre riche histoire en tant que promoteur de la danse. Après une première édition réussie, nous renouvellerons notre partenariat avec le KVS et le Théâtre National en complétant notre série de spectacles avec leur programmation.

Nous poursuivrons également notre fructueuse collaboration avec Rosas et le Kaaitheater. Les amateurs de danse pourront ainsi profiter d’une offre qui n’aura jamais été aussi généreuse et variée. Nous mettrons en valeur ce partenariat Troika entre les théâtres des communautés en posant un geste symbolique fort : Vlaemsch, le nouveau spectacle de Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui au titre très parlant, ne sera pas créé dans « son fief » anversois, mais verra le jour dans la capitale de la Flandre, Bruxelles.

Jugendliche halten Klimaschutz und Bildungswesen für größte Probleme
Die Welt, 16.08.2019

Les chiffres de fréquentation témoignent d’une véritable évolution de notre public : les jeunes sont de plus en plus nombreux à trouver le chemin de notre Théâtre. Nous voulons stimuler davantage encore leur enthousiasme et, à partir de cette saison, nous invitons les moins de trente ans à quatre avant-premières. Nous voulons également donner à cette nouvelle génération la chance de découvrir les productions très applaudies issues de l’histoire récente de la Monnaie. Nous refermerons ainsi la saison avec le Parsifal sensationnel qui a marqué les débuts de Romeo Castellucci à l’opéra il y a dix ans. Il ne s’agit cependant pas vraiment d’une reprise. Le metteur en scène a en effet souhaité revoir sa production. Je suis, tout comme vous, très curieux du résultat.

Si nous voulons être une maison de pointe, nous devons aussi être attentifs à nos pratiques. Par le passé, les considérations liées à notre empreinte écologique étaient parfois subordonnées aux considérations d’ordre artistique. Nous essayons à présent de corriger au plus vite cet état de fait, afin de concrétiser au mieux notre ambition de devenir une maison d’opéra verte qui prend ses responsabilités face au réchauffement climatique. Ces dernières saisons, nous avons à cet égard franchi une première grande étape lors des travaux de rénovation : l’aménagement du tunnel entre la scène et les Ateliers nous a ainsi permis de supprimer certains transports de décors. Cette année, même les réflexions esthétiques autour de notre projet-phare Bastarda! ont été influencées par notre souhait et l’absolue nécessité de réduire autant que possible notre impact sur le climat et l’environnement.

Quoi que nous réserve l’avenir – pour notre maison d’opéra, pour notre société et pour le rôle essentiel que l’enseignement et la culture peuvent y jouer –, j’ai bon espoir que nous soyons prêts à y faire face. Non pas en nous ralliant à une foi aveugle dans le progrès et à un désir effréné de développement, mais en continuant à bâtir sur nos fondements historiques et culturels. Laissons cette saison éclectique nous inciter à la réflexion, afin que nous puissions en sortir plus sages.

Partager cette page