The sale of new (season) tickets for the 2020-21 season has been postponed. We will communicate a new date as soon as possible. Click here for more information.

Close

The federal opera house in the capital of Europe

LA MONNAIE DE MUNT

The Sleeping Thousand

Behind the curtain of Adam Maor's first opera

Sébastien Herbecq
Reading time
6 min.

A fantasy-thriller about the psychological toll of the Israeli–Palestinian conflict. A hypnotic mix of electronic and Middle-Eastern sonorities. The enchanting lyricism of sung Hebrew. The Sleeping Thousand is Israeli composer Adam Maor’s remarkable debut on the international opera scene.

In Israel, a thousand Palestinian prisoners decide to go on hunger strike. The Prime Minister decides to have them sedated while he tries to come up with a solution without drawing the attention of the international community. As time passes, the thousand sleepers begin to infiltrate the dream world of the Israelis, who start suffering from insomnia and nightmares. Only one solution then offers itself: sending an envoy to the parallel world created by the sedated Palestinians.

For his first opera, the Israeli composer Adam Maor presents a singular score: at once fantasy tale, fable, science-fiction story and topical comment. Based on a text by the playwright Yonatan Levy, Maor’s opera portrays a fractured society and a political class that fans the flames of division. The work also echoes the composer’s life and political engagement: Adam Maor was imprisoned for two years after having refused to do his military service in protest against the Israeli government’s political and military actions.

The Sleeping Thousand reflects the emergence of a new generation of Israeli artists, both socially committed and devoted to experimenting with novel musical forms – in this case, a mix of electronic music, Western contemporary music and traditional Middle Eastern sounds. It is this generation of artists that the European Network of Opera Academies (enoa) and the European Union’s Creative Europe programme have decided to encourage by lending their support to this project.

EXTRACTS FROM AN INTERVIEW WITH ADAM MAOR

Adam Maor “Opera is the form that concentrates the most know-how in the combination of text and music. After music, text is the artistic medium to which I am most sensitive. It is the most direct means by which to convey the ideas that interest me. The libretto of my opera refers to a very precise political and cultural situation: a hunger strike by Palestinian prisoners in Israel in 2018. I tried to comment on this situation through the music, but I also tried to explore Yonatan Levy’s ideas, going so far as to contradict them, at times. Moreover, a libretto that refers to a very specific situation must attempt to present a more universal dimension. Yonatan’s text is highly accomplished in this respect: it evokes a very specific event, which almost reads like a newspaper item, but it ends with a more abstract situation with a wider international resonance. I think it’s relevant to pass on this message of warning in Europe, where some frightening political movements have emerged. Let’s not forget that our histories are closely intertwined.

This opera is about repression, more specifically about the effects that oppression has on the oppressor – and not on the oppressed, because we never hear the thousand sleepers. On the contrary, the Prime Minister is the character that speaks the most. He loses his mind because he doesn’t know what to do with the sleepers. To Yonatan and me, it was vitally important to present the oppressor’s point of view. These political issues are the ones that stir up the most emotions in me and that concern me most directly in my life: it would be artificial for me not to talk about them in my music.

Musical fusion

On a stylistic level, my music is closely related to the French school, but electronic music, which I’ve always found interesting from an aesthetic point of view, is also quite prominent in this opera. What’s more, as I had just been released from prison when I began my music studies, I didn’t necessarily have the same cultural and technical knowledge as my colleagues. In terms of electronic music, we were on an equal footing.

For the orchestration, I based myself mainly on the strings. Originating in the Middle East, those instruments travelled a very interesting path in that they constituted the foundation of European music. That enabled me to build a bridge between the two cultures. I then took pleasure in thinking about an instrument that would have journeyed in the opposite direction. The accordion, for instance, a European instrument, became a regular feature in Arab orchestras in the course of the twentieth century. One of the main issues in writing this score was finding a suitable role for the orchestra in a work in which the text is the basis. A musician friend told me: ‘It’s clear to see that the content comes from the voices and that the instruments pick it up and comment on it.’ I’m inclined to agree with that.

Regarding the voices, some passages stand out from the rest of the score, for example at the end, when there is a song written in Arabic. That is my way of paying tribute to the great Egyptian songs of the early twentieth century. The preceding scene, during which the character of Nurit is sedated, is presented as a funeral ceremony that borders on the ridiculous. The scene with the cantor, in the middle of the opera, is sung in the kind of declamatory style used in synagogues. As for the Prime Minister, his musical lines express his longing for authority, his authoritarianism, but also and above all his failure to achieve this authority. The head of the secret service, on the other hand, is truly powerful and always expresses himself in short, simple sentences with a controlled rhythm. Choosing Hebrew came naturally since it’s my mother tongue. But operas written in Hebrew are rare, so I had to look for references elsewhere. At the time of writing, I was listening to a lot of Koranic recitations, which mesmerised me. I was also inspired by synagogue chants that combine fascinating keys and modes.”

Share this page

Maison d’opéra fédérale au sein de la capitale de l’Europe

LA MONNAIE DE MUNT

The Sleeping Thousand

Les coulisses du premier opéra d'Adam Maor

Sébastien Herbecq
Temps de lecture
6 min.

Un thriller fantastique sur les dégats psychologiques du conflit israélo-palestinien. Un mélange hypnotisant de musique électronique et d'influences moyen-orientales. La poésie enchanteresse du chant en hébreu. Avec The Sleeping Thousand, le compositeur israélien Adam Maor fait des débuts remarquables sur la scène lyrique internationnale.

En Israël, mille détenus palestiniens entreprennent une grève de la faim. Le Premier ministre décide de les endormir afin de réfléchir à une solution sans que l’attention de la communauté internationale ne soit alertée. Le temps passe, mais voici que les mille dormeurs infiltrent le monde des rêves des Israéliens, désormais victimes d’insomnies et de cauchemars. Une seule solution s’offre alors : envoyer un émissaire dans le monde parallèle qui a été créé par les Palestiniens endormis.

Pour son premier opéra, le compositeur israélien Adam Maor présente une partition singulière : à la fois conte fantastique, fable, récit de science-fiction et sujet d’actualité. À partir d’un texte du dramaturge Yonatan Levy, il dresse le portrait d’une société fracturée et d’une classe politique attisant les flammes de la division. L’œuvre reflète par ailleurs le parcours de vie et l’engagement politique du compositeur : Adam Maor a été incarcéré durant deux années après avoir refusé d’effectuer son service militaire en signe de protestation contre les actions politiques et militaires du gouvernement de son pays.

The Sleeping Thousand reflète l’émergence d’une nouvelle génération d’artistes, à la fois engagés et expérimentant des formes musicales inédites – dans ce cas-ci, un mélange de musique électronique, de musique contemporaine occidentale et de sonorités traditionnelles du Moyen-Orient. Le réseau enoa (European Network of Opera Academies) mais aussi le programme Europe Créative de l’Union européenne ont décidé de les encourager en apportant un soutien précieux à ce projet.

Grâce au réseau enoa, Adam Maor et Yonatan Levy ont pu faire fructifier leur inspiration lors d'un séjour à Snape Maltings, le cœur du Festival Aldeburgh créé par Benjamin Britten.

EXTRAITS D’UN ENTRETIEN AVEC ADAM MAOR

Adam Maor « L’opéra est la forme qui concentre le plus de savoir-faire dans la rencontre du texte et de la musique. Après la musique, le texte constitue le médium artistique auquel je suis le plus sensible ; il est le moyen le plus direct pour communiquer les idées qui m’intéressent. Le livret de mon opéra fait ainsi référence à une situation politique et culturelle extrêmement précise : une grève de la faim de prisonniers palestiniens en Israël en 2018. J’ai tenté de commenter cette situation à l’aide de la musique, mais aussi d’approfondir les idées développées dans le texte de Yonatan Levy, allant parfois jusqu’à les contredire.

De plus, un livret qui renvoie à une situation spécifique doit s’efforcer de présenter une dimension universelle. Le texte de Yonatan est très réussi à cet égard : il évoque un événement précis, que l’on pourrait presque lire dans le journal, mais il débouche sur une situation plus abstraite, avec des résonances internationales. Dans une Europe où apparaissent certaines tendances politiques effrayantes, il me semble pertinent de faire passer ce message d’alerte. N’oublions pas que nos histoires sont étroitement liées.

Cet opéra parle de répression, et plus spécifiquement des effets de la répression sur l’oppresseur – et non sur l’opprimé car nous n’entendons jamais les mille endormis. À l’inverse, le Premier ministre est le personnage qui s’exprime le plus. Il perd la raison car il ne sait pas quoi faire avec les endormis. Cela nous semblait plus évident de donner à entendre le point de vue de l’oppresseur. Ces sujets politiques sont ceux qui provoquent en moi le plus d’émotions et qui me préoccupent directement au quotidien : je trouverais artificiel de ne pas en parler dans ma musique.

Fusion musicale

Sur le plan stylistique, mon écriture se rapproche de l’école française tout en accordant une place importante à la musique électronique. Celle-ci m’a toujours intéressé, esthétiquement parlant. De plus, comme je venais de sortir de prison lorsque j’ai commencé mes études musicales, je n’avais pas le même bagage culturel et technique que mes collègues. En matière de musique électronique, nous étions cependant sur un pied d’égalité.

Pour l’orchestration, je me suis essentiellement basé sur les cordes ; ces instruments originaires du Moyen-Orient ont effectué un parcours très intéressant en ce qu’ils sont devenus la base de la musique européenne. Cela me permettait d’établir un pont entre les deux cultures. Je me suis ensuite amusé à chercher un instrument qui aurait parcouru le chemin inverse. C’est ainsi que je me suis notamment tourné vers l’accordéon, cet instrument européen qui a trouvé sa place dans les orchestres arabes au cours du XXème siècle. Une des grandes problématiques dans l’écriture de la partition était de trouver quel rôle donner à l’orchestre dans une œuvre où le texte est primordial. Un ami musicien m’a dit : « On voit clairement que le contenu vient des voix et que les instruments le reprennent et le commentent. » J’adhère assez bien à cette idée.

Concernant les voix, certains passages se distinguent du reste de la partition, notamment la fin, où apparaît une chanson écrite en arabe. J’ai voulu rendre hommage au grand répertoire égyptien du début du XXème siècle. La scène qui précède, celle de l’endormissement du personnage de Nurit, se présente comme une cérémonie funèbre qui verse dans le ridicule. La scène du cantor, au milieu de l’opéra, est chantée à la manière déclamée en usage dans les synagogues. Quant au Premier ministre, il a des lignes musicales qui expriment son autoritarisme mais surtout son échec à se faire obéir. À l’inverse, le chef des services secrets est véritablement puissant et s’exprime toujours dans des phrases très courtes, très simples et au rythme maîtrisé. Le choix de l’hébreu relevait de l’évidence étant donné que c’est ma langue maternelle. Mais les opéras écrits en hébreu sont rares, et j’ai dû trouver des références ailleurs. À l’époque de la composition, j’écoutais beaucoup de récitations coraniques – elles m’hypnotisent complètement. Je me suis également inspiré des chants de synagogue qui mêlent des tonalités et des modes fascinants. »

Partager cette page