Our programme is susceptible to changes. Please always check the most recent information on the specific webpages of our productions before coming to your performance.

Close

The federal opera house in the capital of Europe

LA MONNAIE DE MUNT

The Time of Our Singing

From Great American Novel to opera

Marie Mergeay
Reading time
6 min.

In The Time of Our Singing, the US writer Richard Powers describes how, against the backdrop of post-war segregation in his country, a racially mixed family is both united and pulled apart by music. The novel inspired Kris Defoort for his magnum opus. Just a few months before the world premiere, we discuss this La Monnaie commission with the composer and his librettist Peter van Kraaij.

THE NOVEL

Peter Van Kraaij: The Time of Our Singing tells the story of an American family made up of a black woman, Delia Daley, a white (Jewish) man, David Strom, and their three children: Jonah, Joey, and Ruth. The family is always singing or playing music, and the children soon prove to have as much musical talent as their mother, for whom a professional career was unthinkable because of the colour of her skin. Opportunities do present themselves for her children, however, and certainly for Jonah, who possesses an exceptional tenor voice. The brothers begin careers in classical music – an eminently ‘white’ world. Their sister, by contrast, becomes an activist with the Black Panthers.

Richard Powers zooms in alternatively on the generation of the parents – who, at the height of the struggle against segregation, have to fight all the usual prejudices against mixed marriages – and the generation of their biracial children – who grow up in the Civil Rights era. Powers gives his book an ingenious structure that refers to David Strom’s profession as a quantum physicist working on the non-linear time. The Time of Our Singing is at once rich in emotion and an intellectual exploration of themes such as civil rights, segregation, identity, and the conflict between art and real life.

Kris Defoort on why he absolutely wanted to put this novel to music.

THE LIBRETTO

P.V.K.: In adapting the book for the libretto, the novel’s ingenious treatment of time was altered in order to make room for a chronological construction. Within that chronology, however, we did keep the great leaps in time that characterise the book.

Kris Defoort: One of Peter van Kraaij’s ideas was to let everyone have their say from the very first act, whereas in the novel Joey is the main narrator. Peter also lets the story unfold chronologically, apart from the first scene, that is, in which the children – who are already adults when we first meet them at the start of the opera – relate how their parents met at Marian Anderson’s historic concert in 1939 on the steps of the Lincoln Memorial in Washington.

P.V.K.: That look back becomes the starting point of the libretto: everything that is related is an attempt by the characters to give meaning to what has happened. Just as three important deaths punctuate the book, so too three wakes structure the libretto, three moments when the family tries to come together again. As in so many of Powers’ books, the novel is pervaded by melancholy and even a sense of mourning. Powers constantly uses musical references in his descriptions of how the characters deal with loss and the related political events, which is fascinating.

THE OPERA

K.D.: Although Peter van Kraaij had to make a lot of cuts, he took into account the musicality of Powers’ language, which was very important to me. This is the first time I composed an opera on a classically structured libretto with quite a lot of dialogue. It also contains many elements that can bring about a ‘movement’ in the music and recount something different. In musical terms, my opera will give voice to my own world. You can’t pin it down to a particular style. Besides the classical orchestra, there are also jazz musicians. Spoken and sung text will alternate. In my search for a balance between the two, I regularly ask the question as to why a particular passage calls out to be sung. Actually, I aim for nothing less than what Mozart once wrote: to move people to tears with music.

P.V.K.: The scenography in Ted Huffman’s production is based on the concept of public space – a space in which history, both on the ground scale and on a more intimate scale, can be evoked, a space in which people come together and a story is told.

K.D.: The Time of Our Singing covers much of the twentieth century. To my mind, it doesn’t happen often that a contemporary opera is so profoundly rooted in the ‘now’ and yet raises so many universal themes.

P.V.K.: Those themes include identity, being uprooted, and how to find a place for oneself in society. In the process, the relation between art and society is scrutinised. Delia and David’s three children each follow a different path in this respect: Jonah seeks refuge, as it were, in music and Ruth only sees solace in social commitment, while Joey tries to reconcile those two paths. The opera makes clear that the socially relevant themes it deals with are highly complex and that art is a way of telling stories that does justice to this complexity.

Share this page

MM Tickets sera fermé du lundi 5 juillet jusqu'au lundi 17 août inclus. MM Tickets sera à nouveau ouvert à partir du mardi 18 août.

Fermer

Maison d’opéra fédérale au sein de la capitale de l’Europe

LA MONNAIE DE MUNT

The Time of Our Singing

De Grand roman américain à opéra

Marie Mergeay
Temps de lecture
6 min.

Dans The Time of Our Singing, l’écrivain américain Richard Powers décrit, sur fond de ségrégation raciale dans les États-Unis de l’après-Deuxième Guerre mondiale, comment une famille mixte est unie puis déchirée par la musique. Ce roman a inspiré au compositeur Kris Defoort l'écriture de son magnum opus. À quelques mois de sa création mondiale, nous nous sommes entretenus avec lui et son librettiste Peter van Kraaij.

LE ROMAN

Peter Van Kraaij: The Time of Our Singing relate l’histoire d’une famille américaine : la mère, une femme noire, Delia Daley ; le père, un homme juif blanc, David Strom ; et les trois enfants, Jonah, Joey et Ruth. Cette famille passe son temps à faire de la musique, et il apparaît rapidement que les enfants ont hérité du talent musical de leur mère – pour qui un métier dans ce domaine était inimaginable en raison de sa couleur de peau. Mais des possibilités s’ouvrent à ses enfants, en particulier à Jonah, qui possède une voix de ténor exceptionnelle. Les frères entament une carrière dans la musique classique, un univers « blanc » par excellence que leur sœur rejette pour rejoindre les activistes des Black Panthers.

Richard Powers se concentre tantôt sur la génération des parents qui, en pleine période de ségrégation, sont en butte aux préjugés contre les mariages mixtes, tantôt sur la génération des enfants métis, qui grandissent durant la période du mouvement des droits civiques. L’ingénieuse architecture adoptée par Powers est une allusion au temps non linéaire sur lequel travaille David Strom, en tant que chercheur en physique quantique. D’une grande intensité émotionnelle, The Time of Our Singing est aussi une exploration intellectuelle de thèmes tels que les droits civiques, la ségrégation, l’identité et bien sûr le rapport conflictuel entre art et réalité.

Kris Defoort explique les raisons qui l'ont poussé à faire une adaptation lyrique de ce roman.

LE LIVRET

P.V.K.: Lors de la transposition du roman en livret, nous avons abandonné la construction temporelle élaborée du texte original afin de laisser place à un déroulement chronologique. Mais nous avons conservé les grands sauts temporels qui caractérisent le roman.

Kris Defoort: Une des trouvailles de Peter van Kraaij consiste à donner la parole à chacun des protagonistes dès le premier acte, alors que le roman n’a qu’un seul narrateur, Joey. En outre, il propose un déroulement chronologique du récit, du moins si l’on fait abstraction de la première scène, dans laquelle les enfants – qui sont adultes dès le début de l’opéra – racontent la rencontre de leurs parents lors du concert historique de Marian Anderson sur les marches du Lincoln Memorial à Washington en 1939.

P.V.K.: Ce retour en arrière constitue le point de départ du livret : à travers la narration, les personnages tentent de donner un sens aux faits passés. De même que le roman est rythmé par trois décès marquants, le livret s’articule autour de trois veillées funèbres, trois moments où la famille essaie de se retrouver. Comme souvent chez Richard Powers, le roman est très mélancolique, et même empreint de deuil. L’écrivain décrit la façon dont les personnages s’accommodent de la perte ainsi que les événements extérieurs, notamment à travers des choix musicaux significatifs – c’est fascinant.

L’OPÉRA

K.D.: Bien que Peter van Kraaij ait dû considérablement réduire le texte, il a tenu compte de la musicalité de la langue de Powers, ce qui était pour moi très important. C’est la première fois que je compose un opéra sur un livret classique avec des dialogues. Ce texte renferme en outre de nombreuses considérations philosophiques auxquelles le traitement musical peut apporter un nouvel éclairage. Globalement, mon opéra mettra en sons un univers qui est aussi le mien ; on ne peut y affecter un style précis. À l’orchestre classique se mêleront des musiciens de jazz. Textes parlés et textes chantés alterneront. Dans ma quête d’un équilibre entre les deux, je pose régulièrement la question de la nécessité qu’il y a à chanter une phrase plutôt qu’à la dire. En réalité, je voudrais, comme Mozart l’a un jour écrit, émouvoir aux larmes par la musique.

P.V.K.: La scénographie de la production de Ted Huffman s’inspire du concept d’espace public – un espace où l’on peut convoquer aussi bien la petite histoire que la grande histoire, où les gens se retrouvent et où l’on reconstruit un récit.

K.D.: The Time of Our Singing couvre une grande partie du XXe siècle. Il me semble qu’il n’est pas si fréquent qu’un opéra contemporain soit à ce point ancré dans le présent tout en abordant autant de thèmes universels.

P.V.K.: Ces thèmes sont, entre autres, l’identité, le déracinement, la capacité à trouver une place dans la société. L’œuvre se concentre tout particulièrement sur le rapport entre art et société. Les trois enfants de Delia et David suivent chacun un chemin différent : d’une certaine manière, Jonah se réfugie dans la musique, Ruth ne voit de salut que dans l’engagement social, et Joey essaie de concilier ces deux voies. L’opéra met en exergue toute la complexité de ces thèmes à caractère social et montre que l’art est une façon de raconter qui tient compte de cette complexité.

Partager cette page