For all performances and activities until at least the end of November, anyone aged 12 years and older must be able to present a Covid Safe Ticket / EU Digital Covid Certificate. Until further notice, wearing a mouth mask remains compulsory at La Monnaie. More information

Close

The federal opera house in the capital of Europe

LA MONNAIE DE MUNT

Santiago Ydáñez

Meet the production painter of Tosca

Jasper Croonen
Reading time
4 min.

Colossal images of barking dogs, naked bodies, a grieving Mary Magdalene, and an emblematic beheading scene. Spanish painter Santiago Ydáñez brought out his brushes for our production of Tosca. We asked him how these newly created works came to be.

Have you seen the poster for our production of Tosca yet? A sad face looking back at you. Purpled eyelids. Dark puffiness under the eyes. The bridge of the nose an off-white applied with thick brushstrokes. The face is pale, almost colourless. Except for one pink spot on the right cheek…

The poster image is a portrait of Mary Magdalene by the Spanish artist Santiago Ydáñez. For almost two decades, he has been recording his surroundings on canvas in a distinctly figurative style: portraits of people, birds, dogs, and a rare horse. Male and especially female nudes. His works seem almost monochrome. Only rarely does he use pronounced colour accents, and then it is usually a few sanguine spots.

For our new production of Tosca, Santiago created a series of new works at the request of director Rafael R. Villalobos. ‘He explained the structure of the opera and his vision of the work to me,” says the painter from his studio in Jaén. “Originally, we toyed with the idea of making portraits of martyrs. We wanted these to bring out the religious aspect of the opera. But I wanted to play more with the contrast between the spirituality and the cruelty of the story. It is, after all, a gruesome vendetta. Then some of my earlier works caught Rafael’s eye: the aggressive dog heads and my nudes. “Creo que eso está bien,” (I think that’s good) he said immediately, and I started to elaborate on that. By bringing these different series together, you get the interesting fusion of beauty and horror that we were looking for.’

One of the works Santiago made for Tosca looks like a facsimile of Caravaggio’s Judith beheading Holofernes. ‘Caravaggio’s oeuvre also contains that raw aesthetic that Rafael takes from the story. There is, of course, the very literal link to the story: the young woman who kills a figure of authority. That balance between passion and violence. Are you familiar with Les histoires d’A by Catherine Ringer and Les Rita Mitsouko? They sing, “les histoires d’amour finissent mal en générale" (love affairs usually end badly). It always reminds me of that.’

‘At the same time, it is also a painting that gives the viewer an indication that the story takes place in Rome. I originally thought of working with Piranesi’s engravings, but eventually ended up with Caravaggio. He’s not a Roman, of course, but he was most productive while in Rome. Moreover, the painting I am referring to also hangs in that city, in the Palazzo Barberini. This is how we frame the story both thematically and geographically with this one image.’

After Ydáñez had entrusted his works to the canvas in Spain, he passed the paintbrushes on to the artists in La Monnaie’s painting studios. With all their savoir-faire, they magnified Santiago’s images to superhuman dimensions in recent months. ‘I have some experience with large formats myself, but the special thing is that they painted my works on a particular kind of fabric, which adds that extra touch. It was a very pleasant collaboration and I found it fascinating to see how the canvases were transformed from my studio in Jaén to the stage in Brussels. How the smallest movement of those heavy canvases creates a very emotional experience. After all, that is what opera is all about.’

Share this page

Toutes les représentations jusqu’à la fin du mois de novembre ne seront accessibles que sur présentation d’un Covid Safe Ticket. Jusqu’à nouvel ordre, le port du masque reste obligatoire à la Monnaie. Plus d’informations

Fermer

Maison d’opéra fédérale au sein de la capitale de l’Europe

LA MONNAIE DE MUNT

Santiago Ydáñez

À la rencontre du peintre de « Tosca »

Jasper Croonen
Temps de lecture
4 min.

Des représentations monumentales de chiens qui aboient, de corps nus, d’une Marie Madeleine endeuillée et d’une emblématique scène de décapitation… le peintre espagnol Santiago Ydáñez a sorti ses pinceaux pour notre production de Tosca. Nous lui avons demandé de détailler la généalogie de ses nouvelles œuvres.

Avez-vous déjà vu l’affiche de notre production de Tosca ? Ce regard triste qui vous observe. Ces paupières mauves. Ces cernes foncés. L’arête d’un nez blanc aquilin, qu’a fait apparaître quelques gros coups de pinceau. C’est un visage livide, presque incolore, à l’exception d’une tache rose sur la joue droite…

Cette image est un portrait de la Marie Madeleine réalisé par l’artiste espagnol Santiago Ydáñez. Depuis près de deux décennies, il illustre son environnement sur la toile dans un style clairement figuratif : des portraits de personnes, d’oiseaux, de chiens et d’un cheval insolite. Des corps nus : d’hommes, mais aussi et surtout de femmes. Ses œuvres sont presque monochromes. Il n’utilise que rarement des accents de couleur prononcés, et il s’agit alors généralement de quelques taches sanguinolentes.

Pour notre nouvelle production de Tosca, Santiago a créé une série d’œuvres à la demande du metteur en scène Rafael R. Villalobos. « Il m’a présenté la structure de l’opéra et sa vision de l’œuvre », explique le peintre depuis son atelier à Jaén. « Au départ, nous pensions réaliser des portraits de martyrs. Nous tenions ainsi à souligner l’aspect religieux de l’opéra. Mais je voulais jouer davantage sur le contraste entre la spiritualité et la cruauté de l’histoire. En effet, il s’agit d’une atroce vendetta. C’est alors que Rafael a remarqué certaines de mes œuvres précédentes : les têtes de chiens agressives et les nus. « Creo que eso está bien », m’a-t-il immédiatement dit. Et j’ai continué à broder à partir de cette base. Réunir ces différentes séries a permis d’obtenir une fusion intéressante entre la beauté et l’horreur, comme nous le souhaitions. »

L’une des œuvres que Santiago a réalisées pour Tosca ressemble à un facsimilé de celle du Caravage : Judith décapitant Holopherne. Comment s’est-il lancé ? « Son œuvre présente également cette esthétique brute que Rafael tire de l’histoire. Elle inclut bien sûr aussi un lien très littéral avec celle-ci : la jeune femme qui tue l’autorité. L’équilibre entre la passion et la violence. Connaissez-vous Les histoires d’A. de Catherine Ringer et Les Rita Mitsouko ? Ils chantent « les histoires d’amour finissent mal en général ». C’est toujours ce que cela m’inspire. »

« Le tableau indique aussi au spectateur que l’histoire se déroule à Rome. Je pensais initialement travailler avec les gravures de Piranèse, mais j’ai finalement opté pour le Caravage. Ce n’est certes pas un Romain, mais c’est à Rome qu’il a été le plus productif. En outre, le tableau auquel je fais référence est exposé dans cette ville, au palais Barberini. Les cadres thématique et géographique de l’histoire sont dès lors corrects. »

Après avoir réalisé ses œuvres sur toile en Espagne, Ydáñez a remis ses pinceaux aux artistes des ateliers de peinture de la Monnaie. Ces derniers mois, ils ont agrandi les images de Santiago à des dimensions gigantesques grâce à leur savoir-faire. « J’ai moi-même une certaine expérience avec les très grands formats, mais la différence ici, c’est qu'ils peignent mes œuvres sur un type de tissu particulier. Ce fut une collaboration très agréable et j’ai trouvé fascinant de voir comment les toiles se sont transformées de mon atelier à la scène. C’est vraiment spectaculaire de voir comment le moindre mouvement sur ces peintures monumentales crée une expérience très émouvante. Après tout, c’est ça l’opéra : de l’émotion."

Partager cette page