For safety reasons, the doors of MM Tickets will remain closed until December 13. You can still reach our collaborators by phone (02 229 12 11) or via mail to tickets@lamonnaie.be.

Close

The federal opera house in the capital of Europe

LA MONNAIE DE MUNT

August De Boeck

A Portrait

Jan Dewilde
Reading time
5 min.

A Brueghelian Brabantine or a cosmopolitan who personally knew Rimsky-Korsakov and James Ensor? A 'provincial musician' or an international composer who indulged in jazz and Poulenc, and whose operas were performed several times at La Monnaie? Learn all about the exceptional composer of the Nocturne.

Indeed, it's a wonderful portrait: August De Boeck, enjoying his life, wearing clogs in his garden, nonchalantly holding a spade, with a pipe in his mouth. This iconic photograph, taken around his fiftieth birthday, contributed greatly to the image of 'the provincial musician', a musical man who loved nature, as James Ensor described De Boeck: ‘Branching feet evoking greenery, strong fingers digging up potatoes, a wild beard, long hair, old-fashioned moustache with an attractive appearance.’

It is the caricature of 'our Gust', who sucked on his pipe filled with fragrances of the village of Appelterre and lavishly sprinkled with 'bon mots'. A Brueghelian Brabantine, devoted to his birthplace under the church tower of the town of Merchtem, who was only happy when tending to his dahlias and playing with his pigeons. A pleasant fellow who interspersed his sheet music with ‘shades of Jordaens' and 'Uylenspieghel-esque humour', according to musicologist Charles Van den Borren. To a great extent, De Boeck cultivated this provincial image himself and did not object to posing for this photo.

However, this should not make us forget that he left Merchtem for many years to live in Brussels and Mechelen; that he liked to travel; that he was well-read and well-informed about French literature; that he had a sharp and phlegmatic sense of humour and was interested in jazz; that Poulenc and Satie were his favourite composers and that he frequently met writers and artists such as Herman Teirlinck and James Ensor. De Boeck thrived in the French-speaking cultural cenacles of Brussels and he looked beyond the (linguistic) border for his song lyrics. For instance, he wrote beautiful mélodies to poems by the French-speaking musicologist Jeanne Cuisinier, whose personal poetry inspired him to write voluptuous vocal lines and harmonically rich piano parts.

Etching by James Ensor, dedicated to August De Boeck

And let's face it, composing more than 350 works and working in music education up to seven years before your death, does not leave you much time to lounge around in your garden. Energy and discipline were certainly required to write such a rich oeuvre. De Boeck already had that perseverance at the age of fifteen when he walked several times a week from Merchtem to Brussels – a three-hour commute one way! – to study at the Conservatoire Royal. Besides the music theory subjects, he also took lessons from Alphonse Mailly, an organ virtuoso and composer with an international reputation; the French composer Hector Berlioz also had words of admiration for him. In 1881 De Boeck obtained the 'diplôme de capacité' for organ with so much brio that Mailly believed he would become his successor at the Conservatory. However, De Boeck was overlooked for this appointment – apparently after interference from the principal Edgar Tinel, who had his own candidate – and this was a heavy blow that he found difficult to accept. Meanwhile, he was already working professionally as an organist, first as a successor to his father in his native village, and from 1894 as organist of St Boniface's Church in Elsene.

Through the Brussels art circle L'Essor, he met Paul Gilson (1865-1942) who became his mentor despite being the same age. Together with Gilson, De Boeck belonged to a remarkable generation of talented Flemish composers, including Lodewijk Mortelmans (1868-1952) and Joseph Ryelandt (1870-1965). Each in their own way, they explored new worlds of sound to enhance the Late-Romantic idiom. In De Boeck's case, he found these new sounds in the Russian sheet music that Gilson analysed with him. Thanks to Gilson's good contacts with his Russian colleagues, De Boeck also became acquainted with Nicolay Rimsky-Korsakov personally during one of the latter's visits to Brussels. Besides the Russian repertoire, De Boeck was also influenced by French music, from César Franck to a Debussy impressionism. Bold harmonies, the lyricism and solid, directly appealing and colourful orchestration are constants in his work. The end result is unity in diversity and consequently a recognisable idiom.

As a composer De Boeck initially made his mark with his Rhapsodie dahoméenne, a short and lively orchestral work that he supposedly based on a theme he heard in Brussels played by a group of musicians from Dahomey (currently Benin). Any kind of African sound is hard to find in this upbeat and colourful rhapsody, however, the work became an instant success soon after he wrote it in Antwerp in 1894 and it remains very popular today. On the other hand, when De Boeck completed his Symphony in G in 1896, he had to wait until 1904 before Edward Keurvels premiered the work in Antwerp.

De Boeck became a favourite in Antwerp and even before the First World War, the Flemish Opera performed no less than four of his operas in world-premiere: Théroigne de Méricourt (1901), Winter Night's Dream (1902), Rhine Dwarfs (1906) and Reynaert the Fox (1909). Winter Night's Dream, his greatest opera success, was also performed as Le songe d'une nuit d'été in Nantes (1911) and in La Monnaie (1923). During the war, De Boeck worked on La route d'Émeraude, the only opera he composed that was based on a French-language libretto. The performance was held in 1921 in the Théâtre Royal in Ghent, followed by performances in the Théâtre Royal in Antwerp, La Monnaie (1926, 1932 and 1939) and in a translated version called Francesca in the Royal Flemish Opera.

It was also in Antwerp that De Boeck obtained his first appointment at a Royal Conservatory when in 1909 he succeeded his friend Gilson as professor of harmony. In this capacity he taught several composers who subsequently became famous such as Renaat Veremans and August L. Baeyens. In 1920 he moved to the Brussels Conservatory as a harmony teacher and the following year he became the principal of the Municipal Conservatory in Mechelen. During this period he composed several cantatas, such as De beiaardier (The Carillonneur) (1922), which was a tribute to the City of Mechelen's carillonneur Jef Denyn. He also turned once again to the orchestra with the lively Fantasie op twee Vlaamse volkswijzen (Fantasies of two Flemish folklores) (1923), the Concerto for Hans – piano and orchestra (1929), Nocturne (1931), a Violin Concerto (1932) and the whirling In de schuur (In the Barn) (1937). He was not able to complete his last work and he was helped once again and posthumously by Gilson who composed the last measures.

From 1930, De Boeck had quietly retreated to his native village where, in between composing, he worked in his flower garden and enjoyed a good glass of wine and a fragrant pipe. He died unexpectedly on 9 October 1937.

Share this page

Pour des raisons de sécurité, le MM Tickets restera fermé jusqu’au 13 décembre inclus. Nos collaborateur.rice.s restent joignables par téléphone au 02 229 12 11 ou par email à l’adresse tickets@lamonnaie.be.

Fermer

Maison d’opéra fédérale au sein de la capitale de l’Europe

LA MONNAIE DE MUNT

August De Boeck

Un portrait

Jan Dewilde
Temps de lecture
5 min.

Un Brabançon breughélien ou un cosmopolite qui entretenait une relation personnelle avec Rimski-Korsakov et James Ensor ? Un musicien champêtre ou un compositeur international qui s’est adonné au jazz et à l’écoute de Poulenc, et dont les opéras ont été joués à plusieurs reprises à la Monnaie ? Percez tous les secrets du compositeur de cette « Nocturne ».

On peut dire que c’est une jolie photo de portrait : August De Boeck, dans la fleur de l’âge, en sabots dans son jardin, portant nonchalamment sa bêche, une pipe à la bouche. Cette photographie, iconique, prise autour de son cinquantième anniversaire, a largement contribué à l’image du musicien champêtre que décrivait James Ensor : « Pieds branchus évoquant des verdeurs, doigts solides déterrant pommes de terre, barbe inculte et sanglière, poils peu rasés dressés en liberté, moustache vieux jeu profilée en beauté. »

C’est l’image caricaturale de « notre Gust » qui, fumant sa pipe bourrée au tabac parfumé d’Appelterre, nous arrose généreusement de bons mots. Un Brabançon breughélien, dévoué au lieu qui l’a vu naître, sous le clocher de Merchtem, heureux lorsqu’il s’occupe de ses dahlias et joue avec ses pigeons. Un guitariste qui entrecoupe ses partitions d’« allusions à Jordaens » et teintées d’un « humour à la Till Uylenspieghel », selon le musicologue Charles Van den Borren. Auguste De Boeck a pour ainsi dire lui-même cultivé cette image villageoise, comme en témoigne sa pose étudiée sur ce cliché.

Mais tout cela ne doit pas nous faire oublier que pendant de nombreuses années, il a quitté Merchtem pour vivre à Bruxelles et à Malines ; qu’il aimait voyager ; qu’il était cultivé et très au fait de la littérature française ; qu’il avait un sens de l’humour aiguisé et flegmatique et s’intéressait au jazz ; qu’il comptait Poulenc et Satie parmi ses compositeurs préférés et entretenait de bons contacts avec des écrivains et des artistes tels que Herman Teirlinck et James Ensor. Auguste De Boeck a prospéré dans les cénacles culturels francophones de Bruxelles et, pour nourrir les textes de ses mélodies, son regard s’est porté au-delà de la frontière (linguistique). Il a ainsi notamment écrit de beaux airs sur des poèmes de la musicologue francophone Jeanne Cuisinier, dont la poésie personnelle lui a inspiré des lignes vocales voluptueuses et des passages au piano riches en harmonies.

Et autant le dire : quand on compose plus de 350 œuvres et qu’on occupe encore des fonctions officielles dans l’enseignement musical jusque sept ans avant de mourir, il ne reste que peu de temps pour se prélasser au jardin. Pour écrire une œuvre aussi riche, il faut de l’énergie et de la discipline.
Cette persévérance, Auguste De Boeck en faisait déjà preuve à l’âge de quinze ans, lorsqu’il se rendait plusieurs fois par semaine de Merchtem à Bruxelles – trois heures à pied ! – pour étudier au Conservatoire royal. Outre les cours de solfège, il suit également les cours d’Alphonse Mailly, virtuose de l’orgue et compositeur de renommée internationale, au sujet duquel Hector Berlioz ne tarit pas d’éloges. En 1881, Auguste De Boeck décroche le « diplôme de capacité » d’orgue avec tant de brio qu’Alphonse Mailly l’imagine déjà lui succéder au Conservatoire. Mais Auguste De Boeck voit la nomination lui échapper – apparemment à la suite de l’intervention du directeur Edgar Tinel qui avait son propre candidat en tête –, un coup dur qu’il a du mal à encaisser. Entre-temps, il a déjà entamé une carrière professionnelle en tant qu’organiste, d’abord comme successeur de son père dans son village natal, puis à partir de 1894 comme organiste de l’église Saint-Boniface d’Ixelles.

Grâce au cercle artistique bruxellois L’Essor, il se lie d’amitié avec Paul Gilson (1865-1942) qui, bien qu’ayant le même âge, devient son mentor. Avec Paul Gilson, Auguste De Boeck incarne une remarquable génération de compositeurs flamands talentueux, dont font notamment partie Lodewijk Mortelmans (1868-1952) et Joseph Ryelandt (1870-1965). Chacun à leur manière, ils explorent, à des degrés divers, de nouveaux univers sonores pour enrichir l’idiome du romantisme tardif. Auguste De Boeck trouve ces nouvelles sonorités dans les partitions russes que Paul Gilson analyse avec lui. Grâce aux bons contacts de Paul Gilson avec ses collègues russes, Auguste De Boeck fait également personnellement la connaissance de Nicolai Rimski-Korsakov en visite à Bruxelles. À côté du répertoire russe, Auguste De Boeck est également influencé par la musique française, de César Franck à l’impressionnisme de Debussy. Les constantes de son œuvre sont les harmonies audacieuses, le lyrisme et l’orchestration solide, d’emblée attrayante et colorée. Avec pour ultime résultat l’unité dans la diversité et, par conséquent, un style très reconnaissable.

En tant que compositeur, Auguste De Boeck se fait remarquer pour la première fois avec sa Rhapsodie dahoméenne, une œuvre orchestrale courte et vivante, pour laquelle il aurait trouvé l’inspiration dans un thème interprété par un groupe de musiciens du royaume du Dahomey (l’actuel Bénin) présent à Bruxelles. S’il est difficile de trouver une sonorité africaine dans cette rhapsodie débordante de vitalité et colorée, l’œuvre connaît cependant un succès immédiat dès sa création à Anvers en 1894 ; une grande popularité qui perdure d’ailleurs jusqu’à aujourd’hui. Pourtant, alors qu’Auguste De Boeck termine sa Symphonie en sol en 1896, il doit attendre 1904 pour qu’Edward Keurvels présente son œuvre à Anvers.

On peut dire qu’Anvers est favorablement disposée envers Auguste De Boeck, car avant même qu’éclate la Première Guerre mondiale, l’Opéra royal flamand a déjà accueilli la première mondiale de quatre de ses opéras : Théroigne de Méricourt (1901), Songe d’une nuit d’hiver (1902), Les Nains du Rhin (1906) et Goupil le renard (1909). Songe d’une nuit d’hiver, son plus grand succès à l’opéra, est également présenté sous le titre Le songe d’une nuit d’été à Nantes (1911) notamment, ainsi qu’à la Monnaie (1923). Pendant les années de guerre, Auguste De Boeck travaille sur La route d’Émeraude, son seul opéra composé d’après un livret en langue française. La création est présentée en 1921 au Théâtre Royal de Gand et est suivie de représentations au Théâtre Royal d’Anvers, à la Monnaie (1926, 1932 et 1939) et, en traduction sous le titre Francesca, à l’Opéra royal flamand.

C’est également à Anvers qu’Auguste De Boeck obtient sa première nomination dans un conservatoire royal : il succède en 1909 à son ami Paul Gilson comme professeur d’harmonie. C’est à ce titre qu’il enseigne à des compositeurs qui connaîtront plus tard la notoriété, tels que Renaat Veremans et August L. Baeyens. En 1920, il entre au Conservatoire de Bruxelles comme professeur d’harmonie et devient, un an plus tard, directeur du Conservatoire communal de Malines. Durant ces années, il compose quelques cantates, comme Le carillonneur (1922), en hommage à Jef Denyn, carillonneur de la Ville de Malines. Il s’intéresse en outre de nouveau à l’orchestre avec la brillante Fantaisie sur deux chansons flamandes (1923), le Concerto pour clavecin et orchestre (1929), la Nocturne (1931), le Concerto pour violon (1932) et le tourbillonnant Dans la grange (1937). Il n’a pas eu le temps d’achever cette dernière œuvre, mais, même à titre posthume, a pu compter sur l’aide de Paul Gilson qui s’est chargé de composer les dernières mesures.

À partir de 1930, De Boeck se retire paisiblement dans son village natal où, entre deux compositions, il travaille dans son jardin fleuri et apprécie tant un bon verre de vin qu’une pipe parfumée. Jusqu’à son décès inopiné le 9 octobre 1937.

Partager cette page