MM Tickets will be closed from Monday 5 July up to and including Monday 17 August and is open again as of Tuesday 18 August. 

Close

The federal opera house in the capital of Europe

LA MONNAIE DE MUNT

© David Rehor – Millennium Images, UK
CANCELLED

Opera

The Sleeping Thousand

Adam Maor

Presentation
A unique world, at once seductive and provocative— Le Monde

A thousand Palestinian detainees go on hunger strike. To distract attention from their protest, the Israeli prime minister decides to sedate them all. Just then, however, the Israeli population begins to suffer from insomnia. Seeking to cure this inexplicable sleeplessness, the government sends an undercover agent into the world of the prisoners’ dreams. In their collective subconscious, however, nothing is what it seems.

In The Sleeping Thousand, the composer Adam Maor and the librettist Yonatan Levy present a work of intensely topical social criticism in relation to the Palestinian-Israeli conflict in the form of a fantasy epic. Scary sci-fi is interwoven with dreamlike parable, and contemporary electronica with traditional sounds from the Middle East. The result is an astonishingly accomplished debut opera, which took shape under the aegis of ‘enoa’, the European network of opera academies.

Gallery

Gallery

Cast
Cast

ConductorELENA SCHWARZ, ANTONIN REY* DirectorYONATAN LEVY Set designJULIEN BRUN CostumesANOUK SCHILTZ LightingOMER SHIZAF DramaturgyAMIR FARJOUN

Prime MinisterTOMASZ KUMIĘGA NuritGAN-YA BEN-GUR AKSELROD SDAVID SALSBERY FRY A voice of the world: Minister of Agriculture / Demonstrator / CantorBENJAMIN ALUNNI

La Monnaie Chamber Music Ensemble

ProductionFESTIVAL D’AIX-EN-PROVENCE Co-productionLES THÉÂTRES DE LA VILLE DE LUXEMBOURG, CALOUSTE GULBENKIAN FOUNDATION (LISBOA), DE MUNT / L A MONNAIE, MUZIEKKAPEL KONINGIN ELISABETH / CHAPELLE MUSICALE REINE ELISABETH, IRCAM-CENTRE POMPIDOU

With the support of enoa and the Creative Europe programme of the European Union

Dates & tickets

Dates

MM Tickets sera fermé du lundi 5 juillet jusqu'au lundi 17 août inclus. MM Tickets sera à nouveau ouvert à partir du mardi 18 août.

Fermer

Maison d’opéra fédérale au sein de la capitale de l’Europe

LA MONNAIE DE MUNT

© David Rehor – Millennium Images, UK
ANNULÉ

Opéra

The Sleeping Thousand

Adam Maor

Présentation
Un univers singulier, séduisant et provocateur— Le Monde

Un millier de prisonniers palestiniens entament une grève de la faim. Voulant les empêcher d’attirer l'attention, le Premier ministre décide de plonger tous les grévistes de la faim dans un sommeil artificiel... Mais voilà qu’au même moment, la population israélienne est privée de sommeil. Pour résoudre cette étrange insomnie, le gouvernement envoie un agent secret dans les rêves des prisonniers. Mais dans cet inconscient collectif, rien n'est ce qu'il paraît.

Avec The Sleeping Thousand, le compositeur Adam Maor et le librettiste Yonatan Levy livrent à travers un texte épique et fantastique une critique sociale, brûlante d’actualité, du conflit israélo-palestinien. Le résultat est un mélange entre science-fiction et parabole onirique, et entre musique électronique contemporaine et sons traditionnels du Moyen-Orient. Bref, un premier opéra d’une impressionnante complétude, créé sous les auspices du réseau enoa (European Network of Opera Academies).

Galerie

Galerie

Distribution
Distribution

Direction musicaleELENA SCHWARZ, ANTONIN REY* Mise en scèneYONATAN LEVY DécorsJULIEN BRUN CostumessANOUK SCHILTZ ÉclairagesOMER SHIZAF DramaturgieAMIR FARJOUN

Prime MinisterTOMASZ KUMIĘGA NuritGAN-YA BEN-GUR AKSELROD SDAVID SALSBERY FRY A voice of the world: Minister of Agriculture / Demonstrator / CantorBENJAMIN ALUNNI

Ensemble de musique de chambre de la Monnaie

ProductionFESTIVAL D’AIX-EN-PROVENCE CoproductionLES THÉÂTRES DE LA VILLE DE LUXEMBOURG, CALOUSTE GULBENKIAN FOUNDATION (LISBOA), DE MUNT / L A MONNAIE, MUZIEKKAPEL KONINGIN ELISABETH / CHAPELLE MUSICALE REINE ELISABETH, IRCAM-CENTRE POMPIDOU

Avec le soutien d’enoa et le programme Europe Créative de l’Union européenne

Dates & tickets

Dates