MM Tickets is closed from Sunday the 11th of July until Monday the 16th of August. You can, however, still book tickets online. La Monnaie wishes you a pleasant summer and looks forward to welcoming you again in the new seaon.

Close

The federal opera house in the capital of Europe

LA MONNAIE DE MUNT

© Colin Hutton / Millennium Images UK

Opera in concert

The Queen
and
her Favourite

Available until 18.03.2021

Presentation

Kings, queens, and their favourites… Or how, even in pandemic times, our artists refuse to give up. Now that the grandiose Donizetti project Bastarda (about the life of Elizabeth I) has been postponed, the team has come up with a new, but related project, made available via streaming. Through the eyes of one privileged spectator – a young girl that has been anticipating these performances for quite some time – you will be served up the highlights of Rossini’s Elisabetta, regina d’Inghilterra and Donizetti’s La favorita over two evenings. A further examination of the conflict between love and power in the lives of illustrative figures such as Elizabeth I, by conductor Francesco Lanzillotta, director Olivier Fredj and a star-studded cast of bel canto singers.

The Queen and her Favourite

In Elisabetta, regina d’Inghilterra (1815), Rossini’s first opera for the Teatro San Carlo in Naples, we meet Elizabeth Tudor again as, following a military victory in Scotland, she learns of the secret marriage of her protégé Leicester. After scenes of betrayal and sacrifice, Elizabeth finally forgives her favourite and seeks to forget that, as well as being a queen, she is also a woman: “Fuggi amor da questo seno / non turbar più il viver mio” (“May love disappear from my heart and no longer torment my life”).

Tickets Streaming
Downloads
Gallery

Gallery

Cast
Cast

ConductorFRANCESCO LANZILLOTTA
Chorus masterJORDI BLANCH TORDERA Visual concept and scenic interpretationOLIVIER FREDJ
LightingURS SCHÖNEBAUM
Artistic collaborationCECILIA LIGORIO
Live orchestra recordingSIMON VAN ROMPAY

ElisabettaSALOME JICIA
LeicesterSERGEY ROMANOVSKY
MatildeLENNEKE RUITEN
NorfolkENEA SCALA
EnricoVALENTINA MASTRANGELO
The ChildNEHIR HASRET

La Monnaie Symphony Orchestra & Chorus

ProductionLa Monnaie / De Munt

In coproduction with Shelter Prod and Prospero MM Productions, with the support of taxshelter.be and ING
With the support of the tax shelter of the Belgian federal government

Dates & tickets

Dates

Toutes les représentations jusqu’à la fin du mois de novembre ne seront accessibles que sur présentation d’un Covid Safe Ticket. Jusqu’à nouvel ordre, le port du masque reste obligatoire à la Monnaie. Plus d’informations

Fermer

Maison d’opéra fédérale au sein de la capitale de l’Europe

LA MONNAIE DE MUNT

© Colin Hutton / Millennium Images UK

Opéra en concert

The Queen
and
her Favourite

À découvrir jusqu'au 18.3.2021

Présentation

Les rois, les reines et leurs favoris… Ou comment, en ces temps de pandémie, nos artistes ne laissent pas tomber les bras. Puisque Bastarda, l’ambitieux projet Donizetti (sur la vie d’Elizabeth I) est reporté, l’équipe met sur pied un nouveau projet apparenté au premier, qui vous sera proposé sous forme de streaming. En deux soirées, vous pourrez profiter, depuis votre salon, des meilleurs moments d’Elisabetta, regina d’Inghilterra de Rossini et de La favorita de Donizetti, à travers le regard d’une spectatrice privilégiée – une enfant qui se réjouissait d’assister à ces représentations. Avec le répertoire bel canto comme fil conducteur et une fabuleuse distribution sur scène, cette double production explore plus avant le conflit entre amour et pouvoir à travers des figures emblématiques comme Elizabeth I.

The Queen and her Favourite

Dans Elisabetta, regina d’Inghilterra (1815), le premier opéra de Gioachino Rossini pour le Teatro San Carlo à Naples, nous retrouvons Elizabeth Tudor : après une victoire militaire en Écosse, elle apprend que Leicester, son protégé, s’est marié en secret. S’ensuivent des scènes de trahison et de sacrifice, mais finalement Elizabeth pardonne à son favori et tente d’oublier qu’elle est femme, avant d’être reine : « Fuggi amor da questo seno / non turbar più il viver mio. » (Que l’amour fuie mon cœur et ne tourmente plus ma vie.)

Tickets Streaming
Fichiers à télécharger
Galerie

Galerie

Distribution
Distribution

Direction musicaleFRANCESCO LANZILLOTTA
Chef des chœursJORDI BLANCH TORDERA
Conception visuelle et mise en espace OLIVIER FREDJ
ÉclairagesURS SCHÖNEBAUM
Collaboration artistiqueCECILIA LIGORIO
Réalisation captation de l’orchestreSIMON VAN ROMPAY

ElisabettaSALOME JICIA
LeicesterSERGEY ROMANOVSKY
MatildeLENNEKE RUITEN
NorfolkENEA SCALA
EnricoVALENTINA MASTRANGELO
The ChildNEHIR HASRET

Orchestre symphonique et Chœurs de la Monnaie

ProductionLa Monnaie / De Munt

En coproduction avec Shelter Prod et Prospero MM Productions, avec le soutien de taxshelter.be et ING
Avec le soutien du tax shelter du gouvernement fédéral de Belgique

Dates & tickets

Dates