For all performances and activities until at least the end of November, anyone aged 12 years and older must be able to present a Covid Safe Ticket / EU Digital Covid Certificate. Until further notice, wearing a mouth mask remains compulsory at La Monnaie. More information

Close

The federal opera house in the capital of Europe

LA MONNAIE DE MUNT

Covid Safe Ticket required

Dance

The Goldberg Variations, BWV 988

Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker, Pavel Kolesnikov / Alain Franco, Rosas

Presentation
This is my dance golden jubilee— Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker

In his Goldberg Variations, Bach presents an interplay of variations, canons, and fugues that transform a simple, modest melody into an extraordinarily multifaceted musical cosmos. Together with the pianists Pavel Kolesnikov and Alain Franco, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker uses Bach’s score as the blueprint for a similar exercise: exploring a form that is constantly changing. The large forces of her The Six Brandenburg Concertos are here reduced to a single soloist, the choreographer herself, who draws on her choreographic archives – with movement quotations from iconic works such as Fase, Bartók, and Drumming – while improvisation also permits the unpredictable.

The work, created around the time of her sixtieth birthday, marks a new, very personal milestone in De Keersmaeker’s ongoing search for her own choreographic idiom.

Tickets for The Goldberg Variations can be purchased on this website until 17h sharp on the day of your performance. After that, tickets are still available via our partners at Kaaitheater or at the Rosas Performance Space.
Gallery

Gallery

Cast
Cast

Choreography and dance Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker
Music Goldberg-Variationen, BWV 988 (Johann Sebastian Bach)
Piano Pavel Kolesnikov (01 — 04.09 & 14 — 18.09)
Alain Franco (08 — 11.09)

Set and lighting design Minna Tiikkainen

Production RosasCo-production Wiener Festwochen, Concertgebouw (Brugge), La Monnaie / De Munt, Théâtre de la Ville (Paris), Internationaal Theater Amsterdam / Julidans, Sadler’s Wells (London), Montpellier Danse

World première 26.8.2020, Wiener Festwochen

Dates & tickets

Dates

Toutes les représentations jusqu’à la fin du mois de novembre ne seront accessibles que sur présentation d’un Covid Safe Ticket. Jusqu’à nouvel ordre, le port du masque reste obligatoire à la Monnaie. Plus d’informations

Fermer

Maison d’opéra fédérale au sein de la capitale de l’Europe

LA MONNAIE DE MUNT

Uniquement sur présentation d’un Covid Safe Ticket

Danse

The Goldberg Variations, BWV 988

Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker, Pavel Kolesnikov / Alain Franco, Rosas

Présentation
C’est mon jubilé d’or avec la danse— Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker

Dans Goldberg-Variationen, Johann Sebastian Bach joue des ressources de la variation, du canon et de la fugue pour métamorphoser une mélodie simple et retenue en un univers musical éblouissant. En compagnie des pianistes Pavel Kolesnikov et Alain Franco, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker s’appuie sur cette partition pour entreprendre un exercice analogue : inventer une forme dansée en perpétuelle transformation. Après avoir travaillé avec une large distribution dans The Six Brandenburg Concertos, elle revient à un spectacle en solo, qu’elle interprète elle-même. Ce faisant, elle puise dans ses archives chorégraphiques – en citant des mouvements de pièces emblématiques comme Fase, Bartók ou Drumming – et accueille l’imprévisible à travers l’improvisation.

The Goldberg Variations, que De Keersmaeker a créé à l’occasion de son soixantième anniversaire, constitue un nouveau jalon extrêmement personnel dans son inlassable quête d’un langage chorégraphique qui lui soit propre.

Vous pouvez acheter vos tickets en ligne sur notre site Internet jusqu’à 17h le jour même de la représentation à laquelle vous souhaitez assister. Après cette heure-là, vous pouvez encore acheter des tickets en ligne sur le site Internet de nos partenaires du Kaaitheater ou bien directement sur place au Rosas Performance Space. 
Galerie

Galerie

Distribution
Distribution

Chorégraphie et danse Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker
Musique Goldberg-Variationen, BWV 988 (Johann Sebastian Bach)
Piano Pavel Kolesnikov (01 — 04.09 & 14 — 18.09)
Alain Franco (08 — 11.09)

Scénographie et lumières Minna Tiikainen

Production RosasCoproduction Wiener Festwochen, Concertgebouw (Brugge), La Monnaie, Théâtre de la Ville (Paris), Internationaal Theater Amsterdam / Julidans, Sadler’s Wells (London), Montpellier Danse

Création mondiale 26.8.2020 (Wiener Festwochen)

 

Dates & tickets

Dates