The federal opera house in the capital of Europe

La Monnaie / De Munt

Sounds of Longing
© Sanja Marusić

Community concert

Sounds
of Longing

Howard Moody, Airan Berg & Martina winkel

Presentation

Community polyphony

The kindred myths of Orpheus and Eurydice and of Layla and Majnun are among the roots of Western and Middle-Eastern opera traditions. Over the next two seasons, we are inviting the various communities in Brussels to draw inspiration from the imaginary worlds and musical traditions behind these stories and to celebrate the diversity of their city and cultures. The impressions that arise in the course of this participatory process will be developed into a true community opera by the minds and hands of the participants taking part.

La Monnaie is rejoiced to invite you to the participative event Sounds of Longing: the finale of the first round of the community project Orfeo & Majnun. On May 24th, you can discover the work of different groups with whom we have been working with for several months on the theme “longing”. Airan Berg and Martina Winkel shall stage their work and that of their storytellers: the artists who have worked with these different groups.

Who is participating?
Two classes from the Instituut Van de Ursulinen shall share the stage with our Children’s Chorus. During the last months, composer Howard Moody has trained them. Standing next to them are several choruses, (International Choral of Brussels, MAchorale/KoorMA, Union des progressistes juifs de Belgique, VoiceKontakt), the improv group Caleidoscoop from Molenbeek, two dance groups (Sufi Whirling & GC Maelbeek), the project City Zoom of the community Saint-Gilles where children make videos, young Afghan refugees who report on their exile in theatre, students of Arabic of the KU Leuven who bring poetry… Chant, music, dance, theatre, video, film, poetry and miniature shadow theatre show a work in progress of the different Brussels communities involved in this project. They are accompanied by artists with different talents and storytellers who helped work out the story.

What is the theme of this event?
It is an elaborate exploration of the myths of Orpheus and Eurydice and of Layla and Majnun. This will result in a parade through the city and in the creation of a participative opera in 2018 at La Monnaie. Note that La Monnaie still accepts new participants!

Gallery

Gallery

Cast
Cast

Concept AIRAN BERG, MARTINA WINKEL
Musical coaching HOWARD MOODY
Conductor of the Children's ChorusDENIS MENIER

La Monnaie Children's Choir — La Maîtrise

Storytellers
OMID, NIL GÖRKEM, HOONAZ FARADJI-GHOJALLU, COSIMA JENTZSCH, MAX WAAUB, EHSAN HEMAT, ISKA SOKOL-OXMAN, DEMAONE & MONICA KAMARA, TINEKE VANDENHOUDT, MIEKE SEGERS, GRIET GRYPDONCK

Groups
CALEIDOSCOOP, CITY ZOOM, INSTITUUT VAN DE URSULINEN, INTERNATIONAL CHORALE OF BRUSSELS, KULEUVEN, MACHORALE / KOORMA, ON THE ROAD, SB OVERSEAS, SUFI WHIRLING, UNION DES PROGRESSISTES JUIFS DE BELGIQUE, VOICEKONTAKT, LES ZINNATTENDUS (GC MAALBEEK)

With the participation of countless citizens and organizations of Brussels

PRODUCTION La Monnaie / De Munt
WITH THE SUPPORT OF Cercle des Amis du 27 mars, an initiative by Didier & Myriem de Callataÿ, VGC, Service public francophone bruxellois

Agenda

Agenda

Maison d’opéra fédérale au sein de la capitale de l’Europe

La Monnaie / De Munt

Sounds of Longing
© Sanja Marusić

Community concert

Sounds
of Longing

Howard Moody, Airan Berg & Martina Winkel

Présentation

Polyphonie de communautés

Les mythes apparentés d’Orphée et Eurydice et de Majnoun et Leila sont à l’origine des traditions lyriques occidentales et moyen-orientales. Deux saisons durant, nous invitons les différentes communautés et écoles bruxelloises à s’inspirer des univers imaginaires et traditions musicales qui sous-tendent ces histoires, ainsi que de la riche diversité de leur ville et de leurs cultures. Dans ce processus, les participants réfléchiront et/ou créeront ce qui donnera naissance à un véritable community opera.

La Monnaie est heureuse de vous inviter à l’événement participatif Sounds of Longing, par lequel se clôturera la première étape du community projet Orfeo & Majnun. Le 24 mai, vous découvrirez le travail de différents groupes avec lesquels nous travaillons depuis quelques mois sur la notion de « longing ». Airan Berg et Martina Winkel mettront en scène leur travail et celui des storytellers, le groupe d’artistes qui a collaboré avec différents groupes.

Qui participe ?
Deux classes de l’Instituut Van de Ursulinen seront sur scène avec La Maîtrise, notre chœur d’enfants, guidés ces derniers mois par le compositeur Howard Moody. À leur côté, plusieurs chorales (International Choral of Brussels, MAchorale/KoorMA, Union des progressistes juifs de Belgique, VoiceKontakt) ; un groupe, Caleidoscoop, qui travaille sur l’improvisation vocale à Moleenbeek ; deux groupes de danse (Sufi Whirling & GC Maalbeek) ; City Zoom, un projet de la commune de Saint-Gilles où les enfants font de la création vidéo ; des jeunes réfugiés afghans témoignant de leur propre exil au théâtre ; des étudiants en langue arabe de l’Université KU Leuven explorant la poésie… Chant, musique, danse, théâtre, vidéo et film, poésie et théâtre d’ombres en miniature qui montreront le « work in progress » des différentes communautés bruxelloises impliquées. Elles seront accompagnées par les storytellers, artistes aux talents multiples, qui ont aidé à tisser l’histoire qui vous sera contée.  

Quel est le thème de cet événement ?
Il s’agit d’une longue exploration des mythes d’Orphée & Eurydice et de Majnoun & Leïla, dont l’aboutissement se manifestera sous la forme d’un parcours dans la ville et de la création d’un opéra participatif à la Monnaie en 2018.

... Et n’oubliez pas que la Monnaie continue à accueillir des participants ! 

Galerie

Galerie

Distribution
Distribution

Concept AIRAN BERG, MARTINA WINKEL
Accompagnement musical HOWARD MOODY
Direction chœur d'enfants DENIS MENIER

Chœurs d'enfants de la Monnaie - La Maîtrise

Storytellers
DEMAONE, HOONAZ FARADJI-GHOJALLU, GRIET GRYPDONCK, NIL GÖRKEM, EHSAN HEMAT, COSIMA JENTZSCH, MONICA KAMARA, OMID, MIEKE SEGERS, ISKA SOKOL-OXMAN, TINEKE VANDENHOUDT & MAX WAAUB

Groupes
CALEIDOSCOOP, CITY ZOOM, INSTITUUT VAN DE URSULINEN, INTERNATIONAL CHORALE OF BRUSSELS, KULEUVEN, MACHORALE / KOORMA, ON THE ROAD, SB OVERSEAS, SUFI WHIRLING, UNION DES PROGRESSISTES JUIFS DE BELGIQUE, VOICEKONTAKT, LES ZINNATTENDUS (GC MAALBEEK)

Avec la collaboration de nombreux de citoyens et organisations bruxellois

 Het Instituut van de Ursulinen est soutenu par de Vlaamse Gemeenschapscommissie Brussel et est reconnu comme Dynamoproject

PRODUCTION La Monnaie / De Munt
AVEC LE SOUTIEN DE Cercle des Amis du 27 mars, une initative de Didier & Myriem de Callataÿ, Vlaamse Gemeenschapscommissie, Service public francophone bruxellois

Agenda

Agenda