The federal opera house in the capital of Europe

La Monnaie / De Munt

© Anne Van Aerschot

Dance

Fase, Four Movements to the Music of Steve Reich

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Rosas

Presentation

Fase was the first piece where I taught myself to choreograph, and there is a transparency to it, and something intuitive that is reflected above all in the vocabulary.’ Fase marked Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker’s breakthrough as a choreographer in 1982. It comprises three duets and a solo, choreographed to four repetitive compositions by the US minimalist Steve Reich. De Keersmaeker uses the structure of Reich’s music to develop an independent choreographic idiom that does not merely illustrate the music, but also adds a new dimension to it. Both the music and the dance start from the principle of phase shifting through tiny variations: movements that are, initially, perfectly synchronous gradually start slipping and sliding, resulting in an ingenious play of continuously shifting forms and patterns. Having always danced Fase herself, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, for the first time in the work’s history, is passing it on to two new dancers.

Music
  • Steve Reich 
    Piano Phase
    Come Out
    Violin Phase
    Clapping Music
Cast
Cast

Choreography ANNE TERESA DE KEERSMAEKER Created by MICHÈLE ANNE DE MEY, ANNE TERESA DE KEERSMAEKER Lighting REMON FROMONT Costumes MARTINE ANDRÉ, ANNE TERESA DE KEERSMAEKER Danced by (alternating) YUIKA HASHIMOTO, LAURA MARIA POLETTI / LAURA BACHMAN, SOA RATSIFANDRIHANA

Production 1982 SCHAAMTE VZW (BRUSSEL / BRUXELLES), AVILA VZW (BRUSSEL / BRUXELLES) Production ROSAS Co-production DE MUNT / LA MONNAIE, SADLER’S WELLS (LONDON), LES THÉÂTRES DE LA VILLE DE LUXEMBOURG Co-presentation KAAITHEATER

Agenda

Agenda

Maison d’opéra fédérale au sein de la capitale de l’Europe

La Monnaie / De Munt

© Anne Van Aerschot

Danse

Fase, Four Movements to the Music of Steve Reich

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Rosas

Présentation

« Fase est la première pièce avec laquelle je me suis formée en autodidacte à la chorégraphie, d’où ce quelque chose de transparent et d’intuitif dans le matériel chorégraphique. » C’est avec Fase qu’Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker a percé en 1982. Ce spectacle est composé de trois duos et d’un solo chorégraphiés sur des œuvres de Steve Reich, le pionnier de la musique minimaliste américaine. De Keersmaeker se sert des structures musicales de Reich pour développer son propre langage gestuel, qui complémente la musique plus qu’il ne la redouble. Danse et musique explorent le même principe structurant, le « décalage de phase » : par légers glissements, infimes variations, des mouvements synchrones se décalent doucement, donnant naissance à un miroitement complexe de formes et de motifs en perpétuelle mutation. Pour la première fois dans la longue histoire de ce spectacle, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker transmet la pièce qu’elle a toujours dansée elle-même à deux nouvelles danseuses.

Musique
  • Steve Reich 
    Piano Phase
    Come Out
    Violin Phase
    Clapping Music
Distribution
Distribution

Chorégraphie ANNE TERESA DE KEERSMAEKER Créé par MICHÈLE ANNE DE MEY, ANNE TERESA DE KEERSMAEKER Éclairages REMON FROMONT Costumes MARTINE ANDRÉ, ANNE TERESA DE KEERSMAEKER Dansé par (en alternance) YUIKA HASHIMOTO, LAURA MARIA POLETTI / LAURA BACHMAN, SOA RATSIFANDRIHANA

Production 1982 SCHAAMTE VZW (BRUSSEL / BRUXELLES), AVILA VZW (BRUSSEL / BRUXELLES) Production ROSAS Coproduction DE MUNT / LA MONNAIE, SADLER’S WELLS (LONDON), LES THÉÂTRES DE LA VILLE DE LUXEMBOURG Coprésentation KAAITHEATER

Agenda

Agenda