The federal opera house in the capital of Europe

LA MONNAIE DE MUNT

© Hugo Glendinning

Dance

Les six Concertos brandebourgeois

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Rosas, B’rock Orchestra, Amandine Beyer

Presentation

During her 1980 stay in New York, in which Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker first rehearsed her celebrated Violin Phase to the music of Steve Reich, the only other recording playing in the studio was Bach’s Brandenburg Concertos. ‘Like no other music, Bach’s carries within itself movement and dance, managing to combine the greatest abstraction with a concrete, physical and, subsequently, even transcendental dimension.’ In his six concerti grossi, Bach deploys the instruments of the baroque orchestra in different, often audacious constellations. Against this backdrop, De Keersmaeker presents sixteen dancers of different Rosas generations. Following the premiere of Mitten wir im Leben sind/ Bach6cellosuiten De Keersmaeker approaches, as in Vortex Temporum (2013), Bach’s music as if it were a ready-made score for a dance piece, embodying Bach’s polyphonic mastery. The concertos are played live by the baroque ensemble B’Rock. The violinist Amandine Beyer, with whom De Keersmaeker previously cooperated on Partita 2, will conduct the orchestra.

Music
  • Johann Sebastian Bach
    Brandenburgische Konzerte, BWV.1046-1051
Gallery

Gallery

Cast
Cast

ChoreographyANNE TERESA DE KEERSMAEKER
ConductorAMANDINE BEYER

Scenography and lightingJAN VERSWEYVELD
CostumesAN D’HUYS
DramaturgyJAN VANDENHOUWE

B’Rock Orchestra

Created and danced by
BOŠTJAN ANTONČIČ, CARLOS GARBIN, FRANK GIZYCKI, MARIE GOUDOT, ROBIN HAGHI, CYNTHIA LOEMIJ, MARK LORIMER, MICHAËL POMERO, JASON RESPILIEUX, IGOR SHYSHKO, LUKA ŠVAJDA, JAKUB TRUSZKOWSKI, THOMAS VANTUYCOM, SAMANTHA VAN WISSEN, SANDY WILLIAMS, SUE YEON YOUN

ProductionROSAS
Co-productionDE MUNT / LA MONNAIE, B’ROCK ORCHESTRA, VOLKSBÜHNE (BERLIN), OPÉRA DE LILLE, OPÉRA NATIONAL DE PARIS, SADLER’S WELLS (LONDON), LES THÉÂTRES DE LA VILLE DE LUXEMBOURG, CONCERTGEBOUW (BRUGGE), HOLLAND FESTIVAL (AMSTERDAM)
Co-presentationKAAITHEATER

Agenda

Agenda

Maison d’opéra fédérale au sein de la capitale de l’Europe

La Monnaie / De Munt

© Hugo Glendinning

Danse

Les six concertos brandebourgeois

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Rosas, B’rock Orchestra, Amandine Beyer

Présentation

Lorsque, en 1980, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker travaille à Violin Phase à New York, une seule musique autre que celle de Reich est diffusée dans le studio : les Concertos brandebourgeois de Bach. « Pour moi, sa musique porte en elle comme nulle autre le mouvement, la danse, et parvient à associer l’abstraction extrême avec une dimension concrète, physique et même transcendante, peut-être précisément pour cette raison. » Dans ses six concerti grossi, Bach a employé les instruments de l’orchestre baroque dans différentes constellations, souvent audacieuses. De Keersmaeker dispose sur cette trame seize danseurs de différentes générations de Rosas. Après la création Mitten wir im Leben sind/Bach6cellosuiten et tout comme dans Vortex Temporum en 2013, elle aborde la musique comme s’il s’agissait d’une partition pour la danse, incarnant la maestria polyphonique de Bach, au sens littéral du terme. Les concertos seront interprétés en direct par l’ensemble baroque B’Rock, placé sous la direction de la violoniste Amandine Beyer, avec qui De Keersmaeker a déjà réalisé le spectacle Partita 2.

Musique
  • Johann Sebastian Bach
    Brandenburgische Konzerte, BWV 1046-1051
Galerie

Galerie

Distribution
Distribution

ChorégraphieANNE TERESA DE KEERSMAEKER
Direction musicaleAMANDINE BEYER

Scénographie et éclairagesJAN VERSWEYVELD
CostumesAN D’HUYS
DramaturgieJAN VANDENHOUWE

B’Rock Orchestra

Créé et dansé par
BOŠTJAN ANTONČIČ, CARLOS GARBIN, FRANK GIZYCKI, MARIE GOUDOT, ROBIN HAGHI, CYNTHIA LOEMIJ, MARK LORIMER, MICHAËL POMERO, JASON RESPILIEUX, IGOR SHYSHKO, LUKA ŠVAJDA, JAKUB TRUSZKOWSKI, THOMAS VANTUYCOM, SAMANTHA VAN WISSEN, SANDY WILLIAMS, SUE YEON YOUN

ProductionROSAS
CoproductionDE MUNT / LA MONNAIE, B’ROCK ORCHESTRA, VOLKSBÜHNE (BERLIN), OPÉRA DE LILLE, OPÉRA NATIONAL DE PARIS, SADLER’S WELLS (LONDON), LES THÉÂTRES DE LA VILLE DE LUXEMBOURG, CONCERTGEBOUW (BRUGGE), HOLLAND FESTIVAL (AMSTERDAM)
CoprésentationKAAITHEATER

Agenda

Agenda