The federal opera house in the capital of Europe

La Monnaie / De Munt

© Sanja Marušić

Orfeo & Majnun

Take a creative journey to the world of the tales of Orpheus and Eurydice and Layla and Majnun.

La Monnaie’s European project Orfeo & Majnun has been selected for funding by the European Union’s ‘Creative Europe’ programme.

We are proud to announce that Orfeo & Majnun has been selected as a transnational cooperation project supported by the ‘Creative Europe’ programme, for the duration of the project, until 2020. The end result of the project will be a transcultural, participatory music theatre project, which will be staged at La Monnaie in June 2018 and will be complemented by a parade and a number of fringe events.
La Monnaie initiated the project and is the driving force behind it, in cooperation with the Wiener Konzerthaus (Austria), the Festival d’Aix-en-Provence (France), the Valletta 2018 Foundation (Malta), Operadagen Rotterdam (the Netherlands), the Krakow Festival Office (Poland), and the MSMFeira (Portugal).

THE PROJECT

Our Orfeo & Majnun project blends the ancient Greek myth of Orpheus and Eurydice with the well-known Middle Eastern love story of Layla and Majnun, as part of the process of creating a new opera about love, grief, and longing. We invite everyone living in Brussels to take part in multi-faceted workshops that will develop this creative project, which will take shape in a number of phases.

  • In September 2017, multidisciplinary workshops got under way, involving the different communities working on the project.
  • In February 2018, drawing on the ceaseless creativity of the workshops, we will present Songs of Longing in the Malibran Room at La Monnaie.
  • In June 2018, this artistic journey will come to an end with the performance of Orfeo & Majnun, a ‘community opera’ in two parts:
    – A grand production in La Monnaie’s main auditorium: together with you and other participants from a variety of schools and communities, we will weave, around the two tales, a splendid tapestry of different cultural influences, languages, and musical styles.
    – An open-air parade! With animals and mythical creatures produced by the project itself, we will take to the streets of central Brussels, presenting the tales that you yourself may have helped to dream up. This will be a collective festive occasion, with puppets, masks, songs, texts, installations, and music.
     
THE INSPIRATIon

Longing is not only the predominant emotion in the hearts of the parted lovers Layla and Majnun; it is also the inner force that drives Orpheus to go down into the underworld, the kingdom of the dead, to recover his Eurydice. Majnun’s old father longs to see his lost son again and, in the two stories, animals long for the tranquil beauty of the music of the singers and poets Majnun and Orpheus.

Longing is something everyone experiences every day: when we think of love or a lost love, of times past or a better future, of returning home or finding a better place to live. We long for a peaceful community and a meaningful life – and we express those longings in music, words, and a wide variety of other artistic forms.

how you can take part

Recall your own experiences of longing, parting, and yearning. Give expression to your personal emotions and associations in relation to themes such as love, loss, and mourning.

  • Write texts or music for the open-air element of our music theatre project.
  • Bring animals, mythical beings, or gods to life by making masks and puppets.
  • Create shadow theatre and live video with stencils, graffiti, comic strips, photographs, videos, etc.
  • Join in the singing or play an instrument.
  • Blog, film, take photographs, document, share.

You choose what you would like to do!

Why get involved?

Expressing shared emotions and thoughts together in music, words, and images is incredibly enjoyable. And that’s not all! In the course of the workshops, you can also learn new skills, as a number of genuine opera specialists will be there to offer professional tips:  Airan Berg (concept and direction), the composers Howard Moody and Dick van der Harst, the librettist Martina Winkel, and several Brussels artists. They will help you to bring your ideas to life, to come up with melodies and texts, to draw, to play music, to sing, build, paint, dance, spray-paint graffiti, and more. But it will be your artistic work that will ultimately conquer Brussels!

This project is there for everyone. No matter what your level of talent and experience, you are welcome!

participants in ORFEO & MAJNUN

BASSEM AKIKI, AIRAN BERG, HOWARD MOODY, MONEIM ADWAN, DICK VAN DER HARST, MARTINA WINKEL, DAAN MILIUS, THE LA MONNAIE CHILDREN’S AND YOUTH CHOIR, AND NUMEROUS BRUSSELS MUSICIANS, ENSEMBLES, RESIDENTS, COMMUNITY CENTRES, CULTURAL CENTRES, SCHOOLS, AND ORGANISATIONS

MAKE A NOTE OF THESE KEY DATES

Songs of Longing
24 February 2018, 3 pm to 8 pm @ La Monnaie Workshops, Malibran Room
25 February 2018, 3 pm to 8 pm @ La Monnaie Workshops, Malibran Room

Parade
30 June 2018, 3.30 pm to 7.30 pm: around La Monnaie

Orfeo & Majnun
29 June 2018, 8 pm, in the main auditorium at La Monnaie
30 June 2018, 2 pm, in the main auditorium at La Monnaie
30 June 2018, 8 pm, in the main auditorium at La Monnaie

International partners
Local partners

Share this page

Maison d’opéra fédérale au sein de la capitale de l’Europe

La Monnaie / De Munt

© Sanja Marušić

Orfeo & Majnun

Une invitation à entreprendre un voyage collectif et créatif dans l’univers des mythes d’Orphée et Eurydice & de Leïla et Majnoun. 

Le projet européen Orfeo & Majnun mené par La Monnaie a été sélectionné par le programme « Europe Créative » de l’Union Européenne
Nous sommes extrêmement fiers d’annoncer qu’Orfeo & Majnun a été choisi comme l’un des projets de coopération transnationale soutenus par le programme « Europe Créative » pour sa mise en œuvre d’ici 2020. Le résultat, une pièce de théâtre musical transculturelle et participative, sera donné à la Monnaie en juin 2018, complété d’un parcours et de divers événements connexes.
La Monnaie en est le chef de projet et s’est associé avec la Wiener Konzerthaus (Autriche), le Festival d’Aix-en-Provence (France), la Valletta 2018 Foundation (Malte), l’Operadagen Rotterdam (Pays-Bas), le Krakow Festival Office (Pologne) et le MSMFeira (Portugal).

LE PROJET

Notre projet Orfeo & Majnun fait fusionner le mythe antique grec d’Orphée et Eurydice avec l’histoire d’amour de Majnoun et Leila, célèbre au Moyen-Orient, avec l’idée de créer un nouvel opéra sur l’amour, la tristesse et le désir. Nous invitons tous les habitants de Bruxelles à participer à différents ateliers pour réaliser ce projet en plusieurs phases.

  • En septembre 2017 débuteront les ateliers multidisciplinaires avec les différentes communautés qui feront partie du projet.
  • En février 2018, aura lieu la présentation du fruit de ces ateliers dans la Salle Malibran de la Monnaie, sous le titre de Songs of Longing.
  • Ce voyage artistique se conclura en juin 2018 avec la représentation d’Orfeo & Majnun, « community opera » en deux volets :
    un spectacle dans la Grande Salle de la Monnaie. Avec vous et les autres participants de diverses écoles et communautés, nous tisserons autour des deux mythes une mosaïque vibrante entrelaçant de multiples influences culturelles, les langues et les styles musicaux ;
    un parcours en plein air : nous déambulerons dans le centre de Bruxelles avec des animaux et des créatures mythiques de votre fabrication incarnant les contes que vous aurez imaginés ; une fête collective mêlant marionnettes, masques, chants, textes, installations et musique.
     
L’INSPIRATION

Le désir est l’émotion qui domine les cœurs des amants séparés Leila et Majnoun ; c’est aussi la force intérieure qui pousse Orphée à descendre au royaume des morts pour en ramener son aimée Eurydice. Le père de Majnoun désire revoir son fils perdu. La beauté calme de la musique des poètes et musiciens Majnoun et Orphée exerce son pouvoir d’attraction sur les animaux des deux contes.

Le désir fait partie de notre quotidien : quand on pense à l’amour ou à un amour perdu, aux temps enfuis ou à un avenir meilleur, au retour chez soi ou à un meilleur endroit pour vivre. Nous désirons une communauté paisible, une vie riche de sens – et nous exprimons ces désirs par la musique, les mots et toutes sortes de formes artistiques.

COMMENT PARTICIPER AU PROJET

Questionnez votre propre expérience du désir et du deuil. Donnez voix à vos émotions et à vos associations d’idées liées aux thèmes de l’amour, du désir et de la perte :

  • écrivez des textes ou une musique pour le parcours qui constituera le volet en plein air de notre projet 
  • donnez vie à des animaux, des créatures mythiques ou des dieux à l’aide de masques et de marionnettes de votre fabrication 
  • créez un jeu d’ombres et une vidéo live à l’aide de stencils, graffitis, bandes dessinées, photos, vidéo, etc. 
  • chantez ou jouez d’un instrument 
  • bloguez, filmez, photographiez, documentez, partagez

À vous de choisir comment vous voulez participer !

POURQUOI PARTICIPER ?

Partager des émotions et des pensées en musique, textes et images, est déjà un plaisir insolite. Mais ce n’est pas tout ! Durant ces ateliers, vous vous découvrirez de nouvelles compétences, avec l’aide d'artistes et de professionnels de l’opéra : le Airan Berg (mise en scène), les compositeurs Howard Moody, Moneim Adwan et Dick van der Harst, la librettiste Martina Winkel et bien d’autres artistes bruxellois. Ils vous guideront pour donner vie à vos idées, à composer des mélodies et des textes, à dessiner, à jouer de la musique, à chanter, à construire vos chimères, à peindre, danser, graffer... jusqu’au jour où vos créations artistiques enchanteront Bruxelles !

Ce projet s’adresse à tous. Peu importe votre expérience, soyez les bienvenus !

PARTICIPENT À ORFEO & MAJNUN

BASSEM AKIKI, AIRAN BERG, HOWARD MOODY, DICK VAN DER HARST, MARTINA WINKEL, DAAN MILIUS, CHŒUR D’ENFANTS DE LA MONNAIE ET DE NOMBREUX MUSICIENS, ENSEMBLES, ORGANISATIONS, GEMEENSCHAPSCENTRA, CENTRES CULTURELS, ÉCOLES, CITOYENS ET CITOYENNES DE BRUXELLES

NOTEZ DÈS À PRÉSENT CES DATES-CLÉS

Songs of Longing
24 février 2018, 15h-20h @ Ateliers de la Monnaie, Salle Malibran
25 février 2018, 15h-20h @ Ateliers de la Monnaie, Salle Malibran

Parcours
30 juin 2018, 15:30-19:30, autour de la Monnaie

Orfeo & Majnun
29 juin 2018, 20:00, dans la Grande Salle de la Monnaie
30 juin 2018, 14:00, dans la Grande Salle de la Monnaie
30 juin 2018, 20:00, dans la Grande Salle de la Monnaie

partenaires internationaux
partenaires locaux

Partager cette page