The federal opera house in the capital of Europe

La Monnaie / De Munt

© BUhlig

Mitridate, Re di Ponto

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Created in 2016

Direction
Jean-Philippe Clarac & Olivier Deloeuil > Le Lab

Set design
Martin Rick

Music director
Christophe Rousset

Production information

 

Explanatory note on the staging  

Jean-Philippe Clarac and Olivier Deloeuil

All around us, flags.

27, 28, 29 maybe… The colours of the member states of the European Union, which have become such an everyday sight in Brussels that we hardly notice them any more… How many are ‘we’, anyway, and who exactly are ‘we’, spectator-citizens gathered here for a musical ceremony in the very heart of the Union’s capital?

Let us listen attentively to the most profoundly European form of opera, opera seria. Observe the subtle interplay of Mozart’s dramatic art, an extraordinary machine still capable of constructing, almost three centuries later, an imaginative world for our time. An interplay of rhythms and emotions, a formal organisation of codes thanks to which public activity and private passion constantly influence each other, in political life and in the family dynasties in power today, as among those who used to be known as the ‘mighty’.

Mitridate and his two rival sons, the Greek woman Aspasia, and the Roman leaders speak to us from far away, but they speak to us of ourselves. The efforts long ago of the king of Pontus to resist Roman domination of the Mediterranean remind us of recent attempts by some European leaders to change the rules of the Union. Just as the 24 hours of a Racine tragedy have their equivalent in the intense crisis summits that take place so frequently in Brussels, during which the tempo of the negotiations is marked by an alternation of low-key bilateral discussions with melodramatic statements to the media.

Mitridate, a politico-musical ceremony for all of ‘us’. An invocation of the malfunctioning of the European Union, of its impasses, and of its possible future. Because, today more than ever, our generation needs to take possession of the European dream. Because we need, now, to raise high the banner of the European question onstage, to better learn the lessons of its failures and ensure its future.

A game of flags, then.

27, 28, 29 maybe…so as not to leave the flag of the imagination at half-mast.

Translation: Martin McGarry

CONTACT

For more details about these productions or access to their full video stream, please contact.

Ekaterina Przhigodzkaya
Co-productions, sales and rentals
e.przhigodzkaya@lamonnaie.be

Share this page

Maison d’opéra fédérale au sein de la capitale de l’Europe

La Monnaie / De Munt

© BUhlig

Mitridate, Re di Ponto

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Crée en 2016

Mise en scène
Jean-Philippe Clarac & Olivier Deloeuil > Le Lab

Décors
Martin Rick

Direction musicale
Christophe Rousset

Informations de production

 

Note dintention de mise en scène

Jean-Philippe Clarac & Olivier Deloeuil

Tout autour de nous, des drapeaux.

27, 28, 29 peut-être… Les étendards des États membres de l’Union européenne, devenus à Bruxelles si quotidiens que nous ne les remarquons presque plus… Combien sommes-« nous » d’ailleurs, et qui sommes-« nous » exactement, spectateurs-citoyens ici rassemblés pour une cérémonie musicale, au cœur même de la capitale de l’Union ?

Tendons l’oreille vers la forme d’art lyrique la plus profondément européenne, l’opera seria. Observons le jeu subtil de la dramaturgie mozartienne, extraordinaire machine à construire, depuis bientôt trois siècles, un imaginaire pour le temps présent. Un jeu de rythmes et d’émotions, un agencement formel de codes grâce auxquels l’action publique et les passions privées s’influencent constamment, dans la vie politique et les dynasties familiales aujourd’hui au pouvoir, comme chez ceux que l’on nommait autrefois les « puissants ».

Mitridate et ses deux fils rivaux, la Grecque Aspasia et les leaders romains nous parlent de loin, mais ils nous parlent de nous. Les efforts antiques du Roi du Pont contre la domination romaine en Méditerranée ne sont en effet pas sans rappeler les efforts récents de certains leaders européens pour essayer de changer les règles de l’Union. Tout comme les 24 heures de la tragédie de Racine trouvent un équivalent dans les intenses sommets de crise, si fréquents à Bruxelles, au cours desquels discussions bilatérales feutrées et fracassantes déclarations à la presse scandent le rythme des négociations.

Mitridate, une cérémonie politico-musicale pour « nous » tous. Une mise en jeu des dysfonctionnements de l’Union européenne, de ses blocages, et de son possible devenir. Parce que, aujourd’hui plus que jamais, notre génération doit s’emparer du rêve européen. Parce que nous devons désormais hisser haut sur les scènes l’étendard de la question européenne, pour mieux tirer les leçons de ses échecs et assurer son avenir.

Un jeu d’étendards, donc.

27, 28, 29 peut-être… pour ne pas laisser en berne le drapeau de l’imagination.

CONTACT

Pour plus d’informations sur les productions ou les accès aux streamings complets, veuillez contacter : 

Ekaterina Przhigodzkaya
Coproductions, ventes et locations
e.przhigodzkaya@lamonnaie.be

Partager cette page