The federal opera house in the capital of Europe

La Monnaie / De Munt

© Megan Cump, reworked by De Munt / La Monnaie

Foxie!

Leoš Janáček
Created in 2017

Stage director
Christophe Coppens

Set design
Christophe Coppens & i.s.m. architecten

Music director
Antonello Manacorda

Production information

 

From The Cunning Little Vixen to Foxie!

Christophe Coppens (director) and Reinder Pols (dramaturge – literary advisor)

Although Janáček’s Cunning Little Vixen has, ever since it was first performed, been steeped in a fairy-tale atmosphere and has always been seen as an ode to nature, it is reasonable to ask today whether that is the significance that is still relevant to us now and whether it still works dramatically. Can one still portray these characters in a truly credible way as ‘animals’? If you opt for the animal, you find yourself in the world of allegory or fairy tale; if you opt for humanity, a gritty world opens up whose consequences may at times lead us far afield.

By opting for the human world, we undoubtedly lose something in terms of childish simplicity and poetry, but we gain in depth and in insight into the condition humaine. By taking the work away from the unsophisticated natural world, much of its ecological context and significance is undoubtedly lost, but the emphasis on the human aspects makes it possible to lay bare certain fundamental mechanisms of our society, although without explaining them or applying value judgements to them. This choice was certainly not prompted by iconoclastic considerations: we sought, indeed, first and foremost, to fully respect the score, to keep the storyline, and to find a context that is relevant to our time, without repudiating Janáček’s message. A certain number of transpositions were, it is true, necessary in this new context: the wood, in our production, became a multi-purpose hall, the forester became a security guard, and, above all, the division into animals and people was given a highly distinctive interpretation.

In our production, Janáček’s ‘animal world’ represents the adolescents of today who, with their own highly distinctive perspective on reality and their own ideals, have to tentatively, experimentally, feel their own way in the world before they can make it their own. Janáček’s ‘human world’, in this production, symbolises the somewhat hidebound world of adults. The young people observe, help out, intervene, search, and fight for their ideals and draw their own conclusions. Their youthfulness, enthusiasm, and passion contrast with the inflexible attitudes of the middle-aged people who control the organisation of the world. This permanent tension is also part of the cycle of life, which is not just the cycle of life and death, but is also that of letting go and making way for the new.

CONTACT

For more details about these productions or access to their full video stream, please contact.

Ekaterina Przhigodzkaya
Co-productions, sales and rentals
e.przhigodzkaya@lamonnaie.be

Share this page

Maison d’opéra fédérale au sein de la capitale de l’Europe

La Monnaie / De Munt

© Megan Cump, reworked by De Munt / La Monnaie

Foxie!

Leoš Janáček
Crée en 2017

Mise en scène
Christophe Coppens

Décors
Christophe Coppens & i.s.m. architecten

Direction musicale
Antonello Manacorda

Informations de production

 

De La Petite Renarde rusée à Foxie!

Christophe Coppens (metteur en scène) & Reinder Pols (dramaturge)

Bien que La Petite Renarde rusée de Janáček baigne depuis sa création dans une atmosphère onirique et qu’elle ait la réputation d’être un hymne à la nature, il est aujourd’hui judicieux de se demander si cette approche est encore pertinente pour nous, et si elle fonctionne encore d’un point de vue théâtral. Peut-on vraiment encore représenter de façon crédible ces personnages sous la forme d’«animaux»? Opter pour l’animal, c’est tomber dans l’allégorie ou le monde onirique; opter pour l’homme, c’est ouvrir un monde brutal dont certaines implications peuvent nous emmener relativement loin.

En optant pour l’homme, nous avons indéniablement perdu en simplicité enfantine et en poésie, mais gagné en profondeur et en compréhension de la condition humaine. En extrayant la pièce du monde naturel naïf, on lui ôte certes une grande part de son contenu et sa connotation écologiques, mais insister sur les aspects humains permet de mettre à nu certains mécanismes fondamentaux de notre société, sans les expliquer ni leur adjoindre un jugement de valeur. Ce choix n’a assurément pas été dicté par des considérations iconoclastes; il a toujours été primordial pour nous de respecter pleinement la partition afin de conserver la ligne narrative et de trouver un cadre pertinent pour notre époque sans ignorer le message de Janáček. Quelques transpositions ont certes été nécessaires dans ce nouveau contexte : la forêt est devenue une salle polyvalente, le Garde forestier, un agent de sécurité, et surtout, la division entre hommes et animaux font l’objet d’une interprétation originale.

Dans notre production, le «monde animal» de Janáček cède la place aux ado- lescents d’aujourd’hui qui doivent explorer le monde à travers leur expérience de la réalité et leurs idéaux, jusqu’à se l’approprier. Le «monde des hommes» de Janáček correspond chez nous au monde légèrement sclérosé des adultes. La jeunesse observe, aide, intervient, cherche, lutte pour ses idéaux et tire ses propres conclusions. Ils opposent leur jeunesse, leur enthousiasme et leur passion à l’attitude figée des hommes d’âge mûr aux commandes de ce monde. Cette tension permanente fait partie du cycle de la vie, qui, au-delà du cycle de la vie et de la mort, est aussi celui du lâcher prise et de l’accueil de la nouveauté.
 

CONTACT

Pour plus d’informations sur les productions ou les accès aux streamings complets, veuillez contacter : 

Ekaterina Przhigodzkaya
Coproductions, ventes et locations
e.przhigodzkaya@lamonnaie.be

Partager cette page